Thane Municipal Election Results 2017 Live Updates: Shiv Sena set for clear majority

Thane Municipal Corporation election results: The contest chiefly is between the BJP, Shiv Sena and the NCP.

By: Express Web Desk | New Delhi | Updated: February 23, 2017 6:44:28 pm
Thane Municipal Election Results 2017, Thane Municipal Election Results 2017, Thane Municipal Election Results 2017, Thane Municipal Election Results Live Updates, Sudhakar chavan, parisha ,Sudhakar chavan, parisha sarnaik, prakash shinde, swati ghadigaonkar, devram bhoir, adesh bhagat.bhagat A policeman guards Electronic Voting Machines (EVM) at a training camp in Thane on Monday (PTI Photo)

Shiv Sena is set for a clear majority in Thane, a reflection of its result in Mumbai nearby. Currently Shiv Sena have secured wins in 53 corporation wards. Latest numbers show that BJP have victories in 27 wards behind NCP who have won 27 wards.

WATCH| BMC Elections 2017: Shiv Sena Wins 84 Seats, BJP Closes Gap With 81 Seats

Compared to that of the 2012 Thane Municipal Corporation Election, this year’s result maintains a healthy domination for Shiv Sena. On the other hand, BJP have managed to show improvement over their 2012 result in Thane. Congress on the other hand have seen a sharp drop compared to their 2012 result, with this time around the party managing to secure just 2 corporation seats.

The counting of results of the elections to the Thane Municipal Corporation began at 10 am. The battle chiefly is between the BJP, Shiv Sena and the NCP. Voter turnout in Thane was 58 per cent during polling. There are 130 seats at stake in Thane.

WATCH VIDEO | BMC Elections 2017: Shiv Sena Seals Its Fate In BMC, Loud Celebrations In Dadar & Matoshree

In the 2012 elections, the Shiv Sena became the single-largest party with wins in 54 wards although it could not get a clean majority in the corporation. The party also got the mayoral position. The NCP won 34 wards, followed by Congress in 18 wards and BJP in 7 wards. The MNS, floated by Raj Thackeray, also won in 7 wards.

5:30 pm: Shiv Sena currently have secured 53 corporation wards whereas NCP have pulled a lead over BJP at second with wins in 27 wards. BJP have managed to win 21 corporation wards. Congress’ numbers stay static at 2 ward wins.

4:20 pm: Current numbers put Shiv Sena with wins in 42 corporation wards, followed by BJP at 17 and NCP at 16. Congress have managed to secure just 2 wins this time around.

3:20 pm: Shiv Sena currently leads in 33 corporation wards with victories in 9. NCP follow them in second now trumping BJP with a lead in 15 wards. Meanwhile, BJP have a lead in 11 corporation wards.

2:40 pm: Shiv Sena’s winning run in Mumbai seems to be reflecting in nearby Thane as well. The party was leading in 36 wards while all other parties were in single digits.

1:30 pm: Shiv Sena extend their lead in 28 wards in the corporation while securing victories in 4. Meanwhile, in second, BJP’s lead has been cut short to 5 wards while managing to be victorious in 6. On the other hand NCP have managed to pull up lead in 6 wards as well.

WATCH VIDEO |  Counting Begins For BMC Elections & PMC Election Results 2017

11:40 am: Sena continues to lead in the corporation in 15 wards, BJP in second position in 8 wards.

11:10 am: Shiv Sena leading in 8 wards, followed by BJP in 1 ward.

For all the latest India News, download Indian Express App