Follow Us:
Wednesday, January 26, 2022

Naveen ushers in new political reality of Orissa

BJD became the first regional party to come to power on its own in Orissa when a 21-member ministry headed by Naveen Patnaik was sworn-in.

Written by Agencies | Bhubaneswar |
May 21, 2009 2:12:34 pm

Biju Janata Dal became the first regional party to come to power on its own in Orissa when a 21-member ministry headed by Naveen Patnaik was sworn-in.

62-year-old Patnaik,the first leader to become chief minister for the third consecutive term,and other ministers were administered the oath of office and secrecy by Governor M C Bhandare at a glittering ceremony at the Raj Bhavan in Bhubaneswar.

Eleven of the ministers are of cabinet rank,while nine are ministers of state. The cabinet ministers are Prafulla Chandra Ghadei,Damodar Rout,Ananga Udaya Singh Deo,Surya Narayan Patra,Raghunath Mohanty,Prasanna Acharya,Pramila Mallick,Prafulla Samal,Bikram Keshari Arukh,Debi Prasad Mishra and Bijay Ranjan Singh Bariha,a first-time minister.

Of the ministers of state,except Sanjib Sahu,the others – Sarada Prasad Nayak,Pushpendra Singh Deo,Ramesh Majhi,Pratap Jena,Prabin Chandra Bhanja Deo,Atanu Sabyasachi,Badrinarayan Patra and Anjali Behera are first-time ministers.

Bhanja Deo,a scion of the erstwhile Mayurbhanj royal family,has been elected to the assembly from the newly-created Morada constituency.

The ministry has two women,Pramila Mallick,who has been retained as cabinet minister,and Anjali Behera.

Seven of the 12 BJD ministers,who were part of the previous BJD-BJP coalition government,have also been included.

Three of the nine ministers in the previous cabinet are not members of the new house. While Surendranath Nayak and Chaitanya Prasad Majhi did not contest the polls,Duryodhan Majhi lost this time.

Another BJD member of the previous ministry,Sanatan Bisi,has lost the polls this time. Damodar Rout,a former minister,who had been functioning as the regional outfit’s Secretary General and spokesman,has been re-inducted into the cabinet,while Prasanna Acharya,who had been representing the Sambalpur constituency in the Lok Sabha for the last three terms,has been made a minister.

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest India News, download Indian Express App.

  • Newsguard
  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.
  • Newsguard
0 Comment(s) *
* The moderation of comments is automated and not cleared manually by