Follow Us:
Friday, January 21, 2022

Naveen retains key portfolios

After taking over as Orissa CM for the third time in a row,Patnaik retained key departments like home and general administration with him.

Written by Agencies | Bhubaneswar |
May 22, 2009 12:48:30 pm

After taking over as the chief minister of Orissa for the third time in a row,Naveen Patnaik retained key departments like home and general administration with him,while making changes in the portfolios of several ministers.

Patnaik has also kept water resources,works and forest and environment departments with him while allotting portfolios late last night,official sources said on Friday.

While choosing ministers,the BJD supremo sidelined party hoppers and rewarded loyalists of his charismatic father Biju Patnaik.

The Chief Minister allowed Prafulla Chandra Ghadei to retain finance department while giving him additional charge of Excise.

Ghadei is one of the six cabinet ministers this time,who was in Patnaik’s previous cabinet when BJD had shared power with BJP. BJD has become the first ever regional party to come to power on its own in the state this time.

The five other ministers are Raghunath Mohanty,Pramila Mallick,Suryanarayan Patra,Ananga Uday Singh Deo and Debi Prasad Mishra.

Mohanty has been allocated Industries,Steel and Mines and also Parliamentary Affairs,held by him in the previous cabinet.

Pramila Mallick will look after Women and Child Development department,while Surya Narayan Patro has got Revenue and Disaster Management portfolios.

Ananga Udaya Singh Deo has been given Planning and Coordination along with Public Enterprise department and Debi Prasad Mishra has got Higher Education,Tourism and Culture.

BJD secretary general Damodar Rout,whom Patnaik had dropped from his ministry earlier,has been brought back along with Prasanna Acharya and Prafulla Samal.

Rout was given Agriculture,Cooperation,Fisheries and Animal Husbandry departments,while Samal was allotted Panchayati Raj along with Information and Public Relations.

Acharya,who was a Lok Sabha member for the last three terms,contested the assembly polls this time. He got Health and Family Welfare along with Pension and Public Grievances.

There are two new faces in the cabinet – Bikram Keshari Arukh,who was the BJD chief whip in the previous house,and Bijay Ranjan Singh Bariha.

While Arukh got Rural Development and Law,Bariha was given the Scheduled Caste and Scheduled Tribe Welfare department. Eight of the nine ministers of state are also new faces except Sanjib Sahu,who was a member of the previous ministry. He was allotted Commerce and Transport department.

Energy department went to Atanu Sabyasachi Nayak,a former journalist,while Sarada Prasad Nayak got Food and Civil Supplies departments.

Pushpendra Singhdeo got Labour and Employment departments,Anjali Behera got Textile and Handlooms while Ramesh Majhi got IT and Science and Technology.

Pratap Jena got School and Mass Education department while Pravin Chandra Bhanjadeo got Sports and Youth Affairs with along with Revenue and Disaster management departments.

Badri Narayan Patra was made minister for Urban Development and Housing.

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest India News, download Indian Express App.

  • Newsguard
  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.
  • Newsguard
0 Comment(s) *
* The moderation of comments is automated and not cleared manually by