Drunk truck driver rams in to bus,30 killed in collisionhttps://indianexpress.com/article/india/regional/drunk-truck-driver-rams-in-to-bus-30-killed-in-collision/

Drunk truck driver rams in to bus,30 killed in collision

Incident occurred on NH-53 in Assam's Barpeta district.

At least 30 people,including 13 children,were killed and eight others injured when two mini buses carrying brick kiln workers and their families were hit by a truck on NH 35 in lower Assam’s Barpeta district in the early hours on Thursday.

The two buses were going one behind the other when the truck from West Bengal rammed into the first bus and moved it backwards to hit the second one at Doholapara,under Sorbhog Police Station,at about 4.30 AM,police said.

The buses overturned under the impact of the collision. The collision killed 28 people,including the drivers of the buses,on the spot and injured 10 others.

Two of the critically wounded passengers admitted at Barpeta Medical College Hospital succumbed to their injuries,according to police.


The driver of the truck,who was allegedly in an inebriated state,has been arrested.

Several families were wiped out in the accident as the victims were travelling from Kholkholi and nearby villages in Dhubri district in the two buses to work for long periods in two brick kilns at Rangia in Kamrup district,they said.

The two mini buses were packed with the people,their utensils,foodgrains,personal belongings,etc.

The injured were admitted to Barpeta Medical College Hospital and Bongaigaon Civil Hospital.

The bodies were sent to Barpeta Medical College Hospital for postmortem where the families of the deceased arriving from Dhubri identified some of them.

The two injured,who succumbed at the Barpeta hospital,were identified as Ilina Bibi and Mohidul Haque.

Among those dead on the spot were identified as the two bus drivers and handiman Kabir Das,Nikhil Das and Mohidur Islam.

Some other deceased persons were identified as Asima Bibi,Gelemar Khatun,Amina Bibi,Hamida Bibi,Samina Begam,Hasmat Ali,Nasiruddin Khan,Asar Khan,Moidul Islam,Aftar Ali,Khadir Ahmed,Rezaul Haque,Saidul Rahman,Sahar Ali,Rizaul Ali,Afsar Ali and Ashtar Ali.

Who is the election result winner in your Lok Sabha constituency? Click here to find out. Get real-time updates, news and analysis on the 2019 Lok Sabha election results only at indianexpress.com/elections | For a deep dive on the elections check out data.indianexpress.com