Follow Us:
Monday, July 16, 2018

CM Jayalalithaa orders release of water from 3 dams in West Tamil Nadu

Chief Minister J Jayalalithaa ordered release of water from three dams.

Written by PTI | Chennai | Published: June 27, 2013 12:16:58 pm

Tamil Nadu Chief Minister J Jayalalithaa today ordered release of water from three dams in west Tamil Nadu from June 28 to facilitate irrigation of farming lands in this region.

Following requests from farmers in Theni,Tiruppur and Erode districts,Periyar,Amaravathi and Bhavanisagar dams would release water from June 28,she said in a statement.

The release of water Periyar dam would facilitate farming in over 14,707 acres in Theni,Uthamapalayam and Bodinayakanur areas,while Amaravathi would irrigate over 7,520 acre in Tiruppur district,she said.

Water from Bhavanisagar dam through Arakkankottai and Thadapalli channels would irrigate over 24,504 acre of lands in Erode district.

For all the latest India News, download Indian Express App