Follow Us:
Sunday, December 15, 2019

Ram Nath Kovind elected as 14th President of India: What PM Modi, Amit Shah, Meira Kumar said

Ram Nath Kovind will be the second Dalit to become the President of the country. The returning officer, Anoop Mishra, said that Kovind received 2930 votes with a value of 702044. He will be the first BJP member to be elected as the President. 

By: Express Web Desk | New Delhi | Updated: July 20, 2017 9:00:01 pm
Ram nath Kovind, Meira Kumar, Presidential elections, Presidential election results, presidential elections 2017, Presidential election results 2017, Presidential poll results, Rashtrapati Bhavan, Presidential election India, india news Prime Minister Narendra Modi congratulated President-Elect Ram Nath Kovind. PTI Photo

Ram Nath Kovind on Thursday was elected the 14th  President of India. Kovind, the former Governor of Bihar, has served as a BJP MP in the Rajya Sabha as well. He defeated Opposition’s Meira Kumar, a former Lok Sabha speaker, winning more than 65 percent of the votes in the Electoral College.

Kovind will be the second Dalit to become the President of the country after KR Narayanan. The returning officer, Anoop Mishra, said that Kovind received 2930 votes with a value of 7,02,044. He will be the first BJP member to be elected as the President.

Narendra Modi

Prime Minister Narendra Modi took to Twitter to congratulate Kovind. He said, “Congratulations to Shri Ram Nath Kovind Ji on being elected the President of India! Best wishes for a fruitful & inspiring tenure. Gladdened by the extensive support for Shri Ram Nath Kovind Ji among MPs & across various states. I thank members of the electoral college. I also congratulate Meira Kumar Ji for her campaign, which was in spirit of the democratic ethos & values we all are proud of.”

Amit Shah

“Congratulations to Shri Ram Nath Kovind ji for the emphatic victory in the 2017 Presidential elections. His victory is truly historic. I am sure Shri Ram Nath Kovind ji will distinguish himself as an exceptional President of our nation. The election of Shri Ram Nath Kovind ji is a victory for the poor, downtrodden & marginalised and their aspirations. I thank BJP members, NDA family, other valued parties and leaders who supported Shri Ram Nath Kovind ji,” said Shah.

Meira Kumar

“I congratulate Sh. Ram Nath Kovindji for becoming the President of India. My best wishes with Sh. Kovindji as it has fallen upon him to uphold Constitution in letter&spirit in these challenging times. Want to thank all members of collegium, Smt Sonia Gandhiji & leaders of all the political parties who have supported me,” said Kumar.

Sonia Gandhi

She congratulated the President elect of India Shri Ram Nath Kovind. She said, “The President of India enjoys a unique position as defender and protector of the Constitution, upholder of democratic traditions and as supreme commander of the Indian Armed Forces, she said. The President is the conscience keeper of the Constitution of India. Expressing her best wishes to Shri Ramnath Kovind, she reiterated Congress party’s commitment to work for upholding these cherished values and established conventions which are the intrinsic cornerstone of our Constitution.”

Arun Jaitley

“Congratulations to Shri Ram Nath Kovind ji on being elected the 14th President of the Republic of India. I wish him success & the very best.”

Rahul Gandhi

“Congratulations Ram Nath Kovind ji. Wishing you a great term as President of India.”

Nitin Gadkari

The Union Minister said, “I congratulate Ram Nath Kovind ji for his victory. It is a victory of the democracy.”

Sharad Pawar

“Hearty congratulations to the President-elect Shri Ram Nath Kovind. Best wishes for a successful tenure.”

Suresh Prabhu

“Congratulations to Shri Ram Nath Kovind Ji on being elected the 14th President of India!”

N Chandrababu Naidu

“Best wishes to the Hon Sri Ram Nath Kovind Garu, President of India. May the Indian democracy thrive under his able leadership.”

MM Joshi

“Congratulations, hope he will be a successful president& will work for marginalised & poor ppl”

Arvind Kejriwal

“Congratulations to Sh Ram Nath Kovind ji for becoming President of India.”

Sushil Kumar Modi

Sushil Kumar Modi also congratulated Ram Nath Kovind for his win.

L K Advani 

BJP veteran also congratulated the President-Elect Ram Nath Kovind

Bhupender Yadav

“I would like to thank 116 MPs & MLAs of the other side who listened to their conscience & voted in favour of Kovind ji. ”

Lalu Prasad Yadav

“Congratulate the 14th President of India Ram Nath Kovind. Congratulations to Meira Kumar for the courage she has shown.”

Raman Singh

“Congratulate Kovind Ji, his nomination for President post was a sign that govt is determined to bring Dalits in mainstream. His election to the highest post is a sign of the policies and ideologies of BJP.”

Sumitra Mahajan

“Confident that he (Ram Nath Kovind) will work for all from his position.Had very good experience with Pranab Da.”

Mehbooba Mufti

“His victory marks an important milestone in political history of India.It reflects empowerment of weaker sections of society. I hope the tenure of Mr. Kovind would prove to be inspiring, encouraging and egalitarian.”

Naveen Patnaik

“Congratulate Shri Ramnath Kovind ji on being elected President of India. We look forward to work under his leadership at Rashtrapati bhavan.”

For all the latest India News, download Indian Express App

0 Comment(s) *
* The moderation of comments is automated and not cleared manually by