Rajya Sabha Elections 2018 Kerala: LDF’s MP Veerendra Kumar set to win — all you need to knowhttps://indianexpress.com/article/india/rajya-sabha-elections-2018-kerala-candidates-list-seats-dates-results-all-you-need-to-know-5108128/

Rajya Sabha Elections 2018 Kerala: LDF’s MP Veerendra Kumar set to win — all you need to know

The Kerala Assembly with its 140 members will vote for its one Rajya Sabha seat today it requires 71 votes to win

Rajya Sabha Elections 2018 Kerala
Since LDF enoys a comfortable majority in the Assembly, its Rajya Sabha candidate,  MP Veerendra Kumar, will sail through. (File Photo)

The Kerala Assembly will vote for its one Rajya Sabha seat on Friday. The candidate will require 71 votes to win the seat. Currently, the majority in the assembly is with the CPM-led alliance — Left Democratic Front — that has 90 seats. The LDF has fielded Janata Dal (United) state president M P Veerendra Kumar, who is up against Babu Prasad of the United Democratic Front (UDF)– the Congress-led coalition.

Since LDF enoys a comfortable majority, its candidate will sail through.

Veerandra Kumar had earlier resigned from his seat in December after Nitish Kumar joined the NDA.  The Veerendra Kumar-led JD(U) also severed its ties with the UDF in Kerala. Veerendra Kumar had filed his nomination for the RS seat on March 12, he was accompanied by CM Pinarayi Vijayan and Revenue Minister E Chandrasekharan hinting at a possible coalition with the ruling LDF. The ruling party has 90 MLAs in the House while the UDF has 41 legislators.

Click here for Live Updates on Rajya Sabha Elections 2018

Kerala Congress (M) has decided to stay away from the election. BJP MLA O Rajagopal is also abstaining from the electoral process.


Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan, Leader of the Opposition in the state Ramesh Chennithala, former chief minister Oommen Chandy, and state ministers were among those who have voted.

Elections to the Rajya Sabha are scheduled to take place today. In the 245-member House, 58 seats are being contested today, while 33 candidates from 10 states have already been declared as elected unopposed on March 15. Counting of ballots will begin at 5 pm, the results will be announced shortly after that. To secure a win in this election, a candidate needs 37 first preference votes.

UP Rajya Sabha elections 2018: All you need to know

1 seat
LDF candidate: MP Veerendra Kumar
UDF candidate: Babu Prasad
Votes needed: 71
CPM: 90

Veerendra Kumar will win.

Follow the Lok Sabha Elections 2019 real-time on IndianExpress.com/elections. Check the Lok Sabha election schedule, your Lok Sabha constituency details as well as where Narendra Modi and Rahul Gandhi are campaigning in the Lok Sabha Election. On Twitter, follow @Decision2019 for the latest news and analysis.