Follow Us:
Tuesday, August 09, 2022

Former Finance Secretary Rajiv Kumar replaces Ashok Lavasa as Election Commissioner

Rajiv Kumar, a former IAS officer has been appointed in place of Ashok Lavasa, who had offered his resignation earlier this week.

By: Express News Service | New Delhi |
Updated: August 22, 2020 2:00:34 am
Rajiv Kumar, Rajiv Kumar election commissioner, new election commissioner, election commission of india, bihar assembly elections, indian express newsFormer Finance Secretary, Rajiv Kumar. (Twitter/RajivKumar)

Former Finance Secretary and retired IAS officer Rajiv Kumar has been appointed Election Commissioner (EC), a government order said on Friday.

Kumar, a 1984-batch Jharkhand cadre retired IAS officer, has been appointed in place of EC Ashok Lavasa who resigned from the post Tuesday, the Ministry of Law and Justice said in a notification. Outgoing EC Lavasa has been appointed vice-president of Asian Development Bank. Kumar will assume charge from August 31, the day Lavasa leaves office.

Lavasa still has over two years left in his term at the Election Commission. He would have retired as Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) in October 2022. As Chief Election Commissioner, he would have conducted Assembly elections in Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal, Uttarakhand, Punjab, Manipur and Goa, among other states. His premature exit — the second in the Election Commission’s history — puts his colleague Sushil Chandra next in the line of succession.

Kumar, who retired as Finance Secretary on April 29 this year, was appointed Chairman of Public Enterprises Selection Board (PESB) for a period of three years. As Chief Election Commissioner, he is expected to oversee the next general election in 2024.

Subscriber Only Stories
Nitish-BJP break-up in Bihar: Why Modi’s BJP is right to be nervous...Premium
UPSC Key-August 9, 2022: Why you should read ‘Eggs and faith’ or ‘Transge...Premium
Streetwise Kolkata – Beckbagan: Named after an emissary from Awadh ...Premium
As PM Modi again refers to Rajya Sabha ‘hurdle’, some House truthsPremium

📣 Join our Telegram channel (The Indian Express) for the latest news and updates

For all the latest India News, download Indian Express App.

  • Newsguard
  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.
  • Newsguard
First published on: 21-08-2020 at 10:34:17 pm
0 Comment(s) *
* The moderation of comments is automated and not cleared manually by

Featured Stories