Will not support Modi for prime ministership: Naveen Patnaikhttps://indianexpress.com/article/india/politics/will-not-support-modi-for-prime-ministership-naveen-patnaik/

Will not support Modi for prime ministership: Naveen Patnaik

Patnaik said that a lot of people were "uncomfortable" with Modi becoming the Prime Minister.

Odisha Chief Minister and BJD Chief Naveen Patnaik on Monday categorically stated that he will not support Narendra Modi for prime ministership after the Lok Sabha polls next year.

Patnaik also said that a lot of people were “uncomfortable” with the idea of the Gujarat Chief Minister becoming the Prime Minister of the country and he also felt the same way.

“There is no question of supporting Narendra Modi for the prime ministership. A lot of people are uncomfortable with the idea of Modi and so am I,” he told a television news channel.

Asked why was be uncomfortable with Modi,Patnaik told his interviewer,”you know this.”


Patnaik’s forthright comments on the BJP’s prime ministerial candidate appeared to rule out the possibility of BJD,a former NDA constituent,reviving electoral ties with the BJP.

Asked whether he will support Rahul Gandhi for the post of prime minister,Patnaik said his party kept equal distance from the Congress and the BJP.

The Chief Minister replied in the negative when asked whether he would seek prime ministership.

“No. I am happy what I am doing in Odisha,” he said.

Earlier,after Modi was named as the chairman of the BJP’s national election campaign committee,Patnaik had said that both Modi and Rahul lacked pan-India acceptance.

Patnaik’s statement on Modi also virtually rejected senior Congress leader and Union Minister Srikant Jena’s allegation recentlt that the BJD president harboured secret understanding with his Gujarat counterpart BJP recently asked the ruling BJD to come out with clear agenda on what ideology the party will fight the 2014 elections.

For latest coverage on Haryana and Maharashtra Elections, log on to IndianExpress.com. We bring you the fastest assembly election 2019 updates from each constituency in both the states.