Follow Us:
Friday, April 10, 2020

Jharkhand election results Live: BJP clear winner, all set to form government

CM Hemant Soren is among the candidates whose fates will be known today.

By: Express News Service | Ranchi | Updated: December 23, 2014 7:29:39 pm
Jharkhand Chief Minister Hemant Soren addresses an election campaign rally in Dumka. (Source: PTI photo) LIVE: Jharkhand Chief Minister Hemant Soren addresses an election campaign rally in Dumka. (Source: PTI photo)

Despite some struggle a few hours into counting, the BJP had an easy run in Jharkhand with the NDA garnering 43 seats in the 81-member House.

The BJP was being kept in check by the JMM, which was leading in 21 seats.

In the outgoing state assembly, both JMM and BJP have 18 legislators each.

Former chief minister Babulal Marandi’s JVM-P was also doing better than expected, leading eight seats. JVM had won 11 seats in the 2009 assembly elections, but had gone into the current elections with only three legislators after a series of defections of which seven were to the BJP.

There was also bad news for the individuals who occupied the chief minister’s chair in the state – except Shibu Soren, all are in the fray. All of them were in losing positions in at least one of the constituencies from which they were contesting.

Big Questions: Who will form the next government in Jharkhand?

Outgoing CM Hemant Soren was trailing to the BJP’s Lois Marandi in Dumka, but was leading to the BJP’s Hemlal Murmu at Barhait.

Three-time CM Arjun Munda was trailing to a JMM candidate by over 5,000 votes. Babulal Marandi was leading at Dhanwar to the CPI-ML candidate but was trailing to Nirbhay Kumar Shahabadi – who defected to the BJP from the JVM-P – in Giridih.

Read more: Former chief minister Madhu Koda loses, wife Geeta retains Jagannathpur seat

The updated 66.47 per cent voter turnout in the 2014 polls was a record for both Lok Sabha and assembly elections held in the state since it was carved out of Bihar on November 15, 2000.

Chief Minister Hemant Soren (Dumka/Barhait) and ex-chief ministers Arjun Munda (Kharsawan), Madhu Koda (Majhgaon) and Babulal Marandi (Dhanwar/Giridih) are among the total 1,136 candidates, including 111 women, whose fates will be known on Tuesday.

J&K Election Results LIVE: PDP finally edges BJP to become leading party in state

Other prominent candidates in the fray were Speaker Shashank Sekhar Bhokta (Sarath), ex-Speaker C P Singh (Ranchi) and all the ministers in the Hemant Soren cabinet, besides several sitting MLAs and ex-ministers.

This is the third assembly elections in Jharkhand in its 14 years of its existence but the state has seen nine governments interspersed with three periods of central rule. The other two polls were held in 2005 and 2009 and both voted in hung assemblies.

The first government was a BJP-ruled one and the assembly polls had held in February 2000 when Jharkhand was still part of undivided Bihar. After its formation the party in majority in the new state formed the government.

The state has so far been ruled by five tribal Chief Ministers – Babulal Marandi, Arjun Munda (thrice), Shibu Soren (thrice), Madhu Koda (once) and Hemant Soren (once and incumbent) during the period.

Live Updates:

# JMM candidate Deepak Birua won the Chaibasa seat by defeating his nearest BJP rival Jyoti Bhramar Tubid of BJP by 34,715 votes.

# Sita Murmu alias Sita Soren of JMM won the Jama seat beating her nearest BJP rival Suresh Murmu by 2,306 votes.

# Congress candidate Alamgir Alam won the Pakur seat by defeating nearest JMM rival Akil Akhtar by 18,066 votes.

# Congress Pradesh President Sukhdeo Bhagat trailing Lohardaga by 2,419 votes.

# Anosh Ekka of Jharkhand Party leads Kolebira by 17k+ votes despite being in jail on a murder charge relating to LWE org PLFI.

# JMM candidate Deepak Birua won the Chaibasa seat by defeating his nearest BJP rival Jyoti Bhramar Tubid of BJP by 34,715 votes.

# Will provide a good government in Jharkhand: BJP President Amit Shah.

# Raghubar Das/Jamshedpur East has highest Jharkhand lead so far 70,157. Is a National V-P of BJP. Possible CM?

# Jharkhand BJP heavyweight and former chief minister Arjun Munda loses from Kharsawan (ST) to Dasrath Gagrai of JMM.


# Congress minister Yogendra Saw, jailed for allegedly starting 2 criminal gangs, leads Barkagaon 11k+ votes.

# Jharkhand Chief Minister Hemant Soren wins Barhait seat by 24087 votes defeating nearest BJP rival Hemlal Murmu.

# Chamra Linda of JMM won the Bishunpur seat by defeating Samir Oraon of BJP by 10,843 votes.

# Dinesh Oraon of BJP won the Sisai seat by defeating nearest JMM rival Susaran Horo by 2,593 votes.

# Former Jharkhand deputy chief minister and AJSU party chief Sudesh Kumar Mahto lost Silli seat to his nearest JMM rival Amit Kumar by 29,740 votes.

# Water Resources minister Annapurna Devi (RJD) is trailing in her Koderma seat by over 6,000 votes, while BJP candidate Neera Yadav is leading.

# Jharkhand CM Hemant Soren ahead in one seat, but many cabinet colleagues trailing.

# First result declared. Former CM Madhu Koda loses to JMM’s Niral Purty in Majhgaon by 11,182 votes.


# JMM with 21 seats and JVM with eight, doing better than expected. Congress leads in five seats. AJSU doing poorly, at three.

# CPI-ML’s Vinod Singh leads BJP by 1206 votes at Bagodar. Only Left candidate leading in Jharkhand.

# In Bhawanathpur constituency, Navjawan Sangharsh Morcha candidate Bhanu Pratap Sahi is leading by 3,400 over his nearest BJP rival Anant Pratap Deo.

# After former Jharkhand CMs, former deputy CM and AJSU leader Sudesh Mahto trailing to JMM at Silli, 9k+ votes.


# Ganesh Ganju (JVM), brother of banned LWE org TSPC’s supremo Brajesh Ganju, leads Simariya by 18K plus.

# Former chief minister and BJP candidate Arjun Munda is trailing by about 1,200 votes from his nearest JMM rival Dasrath Gagrai in Kharswan (ST) seat after the first round.

# Former Jharkhand CM Madhu Koda trailing by 11k+ votes, Majhgaon. Wife Geeta Kora leads by 9k, Jaganathpur.

# Lead status, 80/81 Jharkhand seats: BJP with 33, JMM with 20, JVM with 9, RJD with 5, INC 4, AJSU 4 and Others 5.

# At Barhait only Jharkhand CM leading Babulal Marandi at 2 seats, Madhu Kora, Arjun Munda all trailing.

# Jharkhand CM Hemant Soren trailing at Dumka to BJP by 7745 votes. He’s leading at Barhait, though, by 4679 votes.

# BJP Jharkhand already celebrating. Vans blaring “Modi aaya re” song goes past my house.

# Stephen Marandi (JMM) leading by 428 votes over his nearest BJP rival Devidhan Tudu from Maheshpur (ST) seat after the completion of the first round.

# Amit Kumar (JMM) leads by over 1000 votes over AJSU party candidate Sudesh Kumar Mahto from Silli.

# Torpa: Jharkhand Party candidate, who received support from banned LWE org PLFI, leading against BJP candidate.

# Jharkhand CM Hemant Soren leads by 94 votes against former JMM leader and present BJP candidate Hemlal Murmu at Barhait.

# Former Jharkhand CM Madhu Koda slips to 3rd in Majhgaon as wife Geeta leads in Jaganathpur


# Former Chief Minister Madhu Koda (Jai Bharat Samanta Party) is trailing by 3000 votes from his nearest JMM rival Niral Purty from Majhgaon (ST) after the first round of counting.

# Anil Murmu (JMM) is leading by over 2000 votes over his nearest BJP rival Simon Marandi from Litipara (ST).

# Ranjit Kumar Tiwari (BJP) leading by 2005 votes over his nearest Congress rival and former Assembly speaker Alamgir Alam from Pakur.


📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest India News, download Indian Express App.

0 Comment(s) *
* The moderation of comments is automated and not cleared manually by