Top leaders who lost in Delhi Assembly elections

AAP has won in 67 constituencies out of 70, defeating both BJP and Congress.

By: Express News Service | New Delhi | Updated: February 10, 2015 5:09:29 pm
kiran bedi, bjp vs aap, delhi election, delhi polls, arvind kejriwal Delhi BJP CM candidate Kiran Bedi

Kiran Bedi (BJP)
Constituency: Krishna Nagar
Kiran Bedi, the chief ministerial candidate of BJP, was fielded from one of the safest seats for the party, Krishna Nagar. Her entry to the saffron party, however, proved to be fatal as she lost the battle to Aam Aadmi Party’s S K Bagga.

Ramvir Singh Bidhuri (BJP)
Constituency: Badarpur
Formerly a member of the Congress party, Ramvir Singh Bidhuri joined the BJP only in 2013 and won the Badarpur seat that year. This time, however, he lost to Aam Aadmi Party’s Narayan Dutt Sharma with a margin of over 47,000 votes.

Jagdish Mukhi (BJP)
Constituency: Janakpuri
Leader of opposition in the Delhi Assembly, Jagdish Mukhi on Tuesday said the BJP would win with the biggest margin ever before the counting started. However, he lost the battle to Aam Aadmi Party’s Rajesh Rishi with a margin of over 25,000 votes.

Anil Jha (BJP)
Constituency: Kirari
Once a president of Delhi University Students’ Union, Anil Jha has been in the BJP since he was in college. He was the sitting MLA from Kirari and lost to AAP candidate Rituraj Govind.

Vikram Bidhuri (BJP)
Constituency: Tughlakabad
Nephew of three-time MLA Ramesh Bidhuri, Vikram Bidhuri failed to live up to his uncle’s popularity in Tughlakabad, a constituency known as a traditional BJP bastion. Bidhuri lost to AAP’s candidate Sahi Ram with a margin of over 33,000 votes.

Pawan Sharma (BJP)
Constituency: Uttam Nagar
Pawan Sharma, who won the Uttam Nagar seat, previously a Congress bastion, in 2008, suffered a setback this time as Naresh Balyan from AAP defeated him.

ajay maken, delhi elections, congress Delhi Congress CM candidate Ajay Maken

Ajay Maken (Congress)
Constituency: Sadar Bazar
Congress General Secretary Ajay Maken was the face of Congress in the Delhi elections, contesting from the Sadar Bazar seat.

Shoaib Iqbal (Congress)
Constituency: Matia Mahal
Previously a JD(U) MLA, Shoaib Iqbal joined the Congress Party November last year. After being chosen as the MLA from this constituency five times in a row since 1993, Iqbal was defeated by AAP’s Asim Ahmed Khan in this assembly election.

Haroon Yusuf (Congress)
Constituency: Ballimaran
A minister in the previous Shiela Dikshit government, Haroon Yusuf has been an MLA from Ballimaran constituency for five terms in a row. This time, however, Yusuf stood third in line after BJP’s Shayam Lal Morwal and AAP’s Imran Hussain, who won from the seat.

Mahabal Mishra (Congress)
Constituency: Dwarka
Senior Congress leader Mahabal Mishra, who lost the Dwarka seat to BJP’s Praduyman Rajput in the Assembly election in 2013, has again failed to win the seat. This time he lost to AAP’s Adarsh Shastri.

For all the latest India News, download Indian Express App