Follow Us:
Wednesday, February 26, 2020

Three cabinet colleagues of CM Kiran Kumar Reddy may join TDP

Andhra CM was in for a shocker when three of his cabinet members decided to join Telugu Desam Party.

By: Press Trust of India | Hydrabad | Updated: February 25, 2014 9:23:05 am
TDP chief N Chandrababu Naidu addressing Seemandhra TDP party members' meeting in Hyderabad on Monday. PTI TDP chief N Chandrababu Naidu addressing Seemandhra TDP party members’ meeting in Hyderabad on Monday.  (PTI)

Giving a shocker to Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister N Kiran Kumar Reddy, at least three of his cabinet colleagues are set to join the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) soon, sources said.

A fourth minister has decided to quit the Congress, but it’s unlcear whether he would join TDP or a new party floated by Kiran. Ministers Erasu Pratap Reddy and T G Venkatesh, who had all along been trusted supporters of Kiran, would meet TDP president N Chandrababu Naidu here on February 27 and formally join the party.

Another minister Ganta Srinivasa Rao is also set to return to his parent party this week, TDP sources said.

TDP MPs Y S Chowdary, C M Ramesh and Garikapati Mohan Rao Monday, met with Erasu, T G Venkatesh and Ganta to discuss their political plans. It was then decided that Erasu and TG would meet Chandrababu Naidu on February 27 and formally announce their entry into the TDP.

Ganta Srinivasa Rao who is also expected to follow suit, began his political career with the TDP and was elected to the Lok Sabha from Anakapalli in 1999. T G Venkatesh also previously served as a TDP MLA, while Erasu has been serving the congress all through.

Erasu and T G Venkatesh belong to Kurnool district in Rayalaseema, while Ganta Srinivasa Rao represents Visakhapatnam district in North Coastal Andhra.

Satrucharla Vijaya Rama Raju, minister from Vizianagaram district, has also decided to quit the Congress. He is likely to return to TDP, sources said.

Chandrababu Naidu reportedly told his party colleagues from Seemandhra today that a large number of Congress leaders, including ministers and MLAs, plan to join the TDP.

“However, we may not open our doors to all of them. Only those useful to the party will be admitted. I will go by the opinion of the respective district units,” the TDP chief reportedly said.

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest India News, download Indian Express App.

0 Comment(s) *
* The moderation of comments is automated and not cleared manually by