The new CMO, minus Modi seal

The perceived threat Modi faced kept him under enhanced Z-plus security but Anandiben will not have National Security Guard commandos

Written by Hiral Devrajbhai Dave | Gandhinagar | Updated: May 23, 2014 9:14:47 am

The change of guard in Gujarat will be reflected in a scaled-down security detail, the incumbents in the Chief Minister’s Office, the office décor and even communication systems.

Some of the accessories of a typical Narendra Modi event, such as colour-coded invites that helped plan car parks, bins to collect prohibited items, and the strict security drill were missing at Anandiben Patel’s swearing-in. Modi was last sworn in as CM for the fourth time in December 2012 at the Sardar Patel Stadium in Ahmedabad, which is an open and much larger venue.

Modi’s personal secretary Om Prakash Singh and personal assistant Tanmay Mehta are expected to follow him to Delhi, while long-time officer on special duty, Sanjay Bhavsar, and his PRO all these years, Jagdish Thakkar, are likely to work with Anandiben, sources say.

Among bureaucrats, Modi’s trusted lieutenant K Kailashnathan, made chief principal secretary in the CMO after his retirement, is expected to stay in Gujarat, at least to ensure a smooth transition and liaison with the Centre.

A source in the CMO predicted that Modi’s core team including additional principal secretary Arun K Sharma, principal secretary Girish Chandra Murmu and joint secretary Vijay Nehra will be soon called to Delhi. Sharma, in fact, has been camping in Delhi for the last four days preparing for the swearing-in.

The perceived threat Modi faced kept him under enhanced Z-plus security but Anandiben will not have National Security Guard commandos. Additional chief secretary (home) S K Nanda said, “The new CM will get Z-plus security like before, but without the NSG commandos.”

Anandiben’s personal secretaries J D Desai and K C Sampat are expected to move into the CMO. “Soon, details will be chalked out with General Administration Department on IAS officers to be moved into the CMO, if and when some officers move to Delhi,” said an official. “The movement of officers to Delhi will happen in couple of months.”

Anandiben is likely to move into the chief minister’s residence to be vacated by Modi. She lives separately from her Memnagar-based educator-writer husband Mafatbhai Patel; her address is that of her son Sanjay’s on Ahmedabad’s outskirts. Their daughter, Anar, runs an organisation promoting local artisans.

The staff at the revenue and urban department, which Patel was holding so far, said the décor of CMO is likely to change a bit. “She may go for some décor changes to her cabin, which are likely to be minor.”

(Inputs by Ujjwala Nayudu)

Who gets what

Cabinet ministers
Anandiben Patel, CM:
General Administration, Administrative Reforms and Training, Industries, Home, Climate Change, Ports, Information & Broadcasting, Narmada, Kalpsar, Revenue, Disaster Management, Urban Development, Housing Board, all departments not allotted to a minister

Nitin Patel:

Heath, Medical Education, Family Welfare, Road and Building, Capital Project and Transport

Ramanlal Vora:

Social Justice and Welfare

Bhupendrasinh Chudasma:

Education, Higher and Technical Education, Civil Supplies, Science and Technology

Saurabh Patel:

Finance, Energy and Petro Chemicals, Mines and Minerals, Cottage Industry, Printing and Writing Material, Planning, Tourism, Civil Aviation, Labour and Employment

Ganpat Vasava:

Forest and Environment and Tribal Development

Babu Bokhiriya:

Water Resources, Water Supply, Agriculture, Cooperative, Animal Husbandary, Fisheries and Cow Protection

Ministers of State Dilip Thakor, Vasu Trivedi, Pradeepsinh Jadeja, Chatrasinh Mori, Jaydrathsinh Parmar, Rajnikant Patel, Govind Patel, Nanu Vanani, Jayanti Kavadia, Shanker Chaudhary (Heath and Family Welfare, Transport, Urban Development), Tarachand Cheda, Jayesh Radaiya, Bachu Khabad, Kanti Gamit

For all the latest India News, download Indian Express App