Follow Us:
Monday, July 23, 2018

Telangana: Two TDP MPs suspended from Rajya Sabha for a day

The MPs from Andhra Pradesh were protesting against the decision to form Telangana.

Written by PTI | New Delhi | Published: August 26, 2013 4:03:10 pm

Cracking the whip,Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairman P J Kurien on Monday suspended two TDP members from Andhra Pradesh for a day for continuously disrupting the House by protesting against the decision to form Telangana.

C M Ramesh and Y R Chowdhary were suspended under Rule 255 which states that “the Chairman may direct any member whose conduct is in his opinion grossly disorderly to withdraw immediately from the Council and any member so ordered to withdraw shall do so forthwith and shall absent himself during the remainder of the day’s meeting.”

The action came after Ramesh and Chowdhary trooped into the Well during the post-lunch session holding placards as part of their continuous protests since the Monsoon session began on August 5.

Kurien gave Chowdhury three minutes to speak with the condition that he and his party colleague would not come to the Well after that.

But,both the TDP members kept protesting with Chowdhury demanding a statement from the government on the issue.

Kurien’s repeated appeal to them to go back to their seats and allow functioning of the House went in vain and he suspended them invoking the Rule 255.

He then adjourned the House for 30 minutes.

The two TDP members have been protesting against division of Andhra Pradesh since the beginning of the current session. Earlier too,they were warned of such an action “for holding the House to ransom.”

For all the latest India News, download Indian Express App