Follow Us:
Friday, December 03, 2021

Six phase polling in Bihar for better force availability

On April 10, naxal-affected areas of Bihar will have polls to facilitate better security availability

Patna |
Updated: March 5, 2014 9:06:06 pm

With an aim to guard Naxal-hit areas, Bihar’s Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Ajay V Nayak said on Wednesday that polling will be spread over six phases so that the central paramilitary forces could be made available on “d-day” in these areas.

“The number of phases had to be increased to six in Bihar because we do not have adequate Central Paramilitary Forces as demanded and this could be made available from other areas for smooth conduct of elections particularly in the Maoists infested areas,” Nayak told reporters.

“Naxal-affected areas of Bihar contiguous to Jharkhand will have polls together on April 10 to facilitate better security availability,” he said explaining the reasons for expanding polling to six days in Bihar.

Bihar will witness polling in six-phases on April 10, 17, 24, 30, May 7 and May 12. Six to seven Lok Sabha constituencies out of a total of 40 seats will go to polls in each phase.

A special camp shall be organised at all polling stations in the state on March 9 for voters to check their names in the electoral roll.

“If anyone has been left out or whose name has wrongly been deleted, he can immediately fill application for inclusion of name in form 6 and hand it over to the Block Level Officer (BLO),” Nayak said. “Voters should have Election Photo Identity Card (EPIC) and name in photo electoral roll to exercise their franchise”, he added.

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest India News, download Indian Express App.

  • Newsguard
  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.
  • Newsguard
0 Comment(s) *
* The moderation of comments is automated and not cleared manually by