SDF storms to power for fifth consecutive term in Sikkim

Sikkim Democratic Front stormed to power for the record fifth consecutive term winning 18 Assembly seats out of 32.

By: Press Trust of India | Gangtok | Published: May 16, 2014 7:25:28 pm

Sikkim Democratic Front (SDF) on Friday stormed to power for the record fifth consecutive term in the state, winning 18 seats in the 32-member state Assembly.

Among the prominent winners was Chief Minister Pawan Chamling, who retained his home seat Namchi-Singhithang, defeating his nearest rival Milan Rai of Sikkim Krantikari Morcha (SKM) by a comfortable margin of 1,084 votes.

Chamling, who was in power for an uninterrupted 20 years, also contested from the Rangang-Yangang seat, the result of which is awaited.

There was no opposition in the last term of the state Assembly as SDF had won all the seats.

But this time, the opposition space would be occupied by SKM, which broke away from the SDF and has won three seats so far.

However, Prem Singh Tamang also known as Goley and who had founded the SKM last year, was defeated from the Namthang-Rateypani seat by 1,155 votes.

For all the latest India News, download Indian Express App