Follow Us:
Friday, January 24, 2020

Repolling in 22 booths of Odisha on April 17

Polling was disrupted in those booths due to some reason or the other. And the voting time is reduced till 3 pm.

By: Press Trust of India | Bhubaneswar | Published: April 14, 2014 9:17:25 pm

Repolling in 22 booths, spread over eight Assembly segments in Odisha, will be conducted on April 17, the day when the second phase of elections will be held in the coastal belt of the state, officials said.

“The EC has ordered to conduct fresh polling in 22 polling stations on April 17, the day on which the second phase polling will take place,” a release issued by the Chief Electoral Officer (CEO), Odisha said adding polling was disrupted in those booths due to some reason or the other.

While repolling will be conducted in 15 booths under Chitrakonda Assembly segment in Malkangiri district, two booths — one in Kotpad Assembly segment and another in Potangi Assembly constituency in Koraput district would also be held.

Other places where repolling would be held on April 17 are Kumbhari under Bijepur AC, Dipapada under Jharsuguda AC, Kumbhari under Daspalla AC, Kumbhapada under Bhanjanagar AC, Asrubahal under Athamalik, Pujariguda under Kotpad AC and Modakar under Potangi AC, they said.

The EC, however, reduced voting time where repolling will be held on April 17.

“The voting time is between 7 am and 3 pm,” an official said.

While Maoists had snatched away EVMs from polling personnel or set voting machines in Malkangiri and Koraput district on fire, polling could not take place on April 10 due to technical snag in some EVMs, they said.

Polling in ten Parliamentary constituencies and 70 Assembly segments in the first phase on April 10 was by and large peaceful barring some stray incidents, said Mona Sharma, CEO, Odisha.

For all the latest India News, download Indian Express App

0 Comment(s) *
* The moderation of comments is automated and not cleared manually by