President Pratibha Patil gives away Padma Awards

Late singer Bhupen Hazarika was among 53 persons who were conferred the Padma Awards.

Written by Agencies | New Delhi | Published: March 22, 2012 11:48:40 pm

Late singer Bhupen Hazarika,former diplomat Ronen Sen,noted painter Jatin Das,Dhrupad exponents Gundecha brothers,industrialist Priya Paul,were among the 53 persons who were conferred the Padma Awards here.

Former Governor T V Rajeswar and noted orthopaedician Kantilal Sancheti were given the Padma Vibhushan,the country’s second highest civilian award,by President Pratibha Patil this evening at a ceremony at the Rashtrapati Bhawan.

Taz Hazarika,son of Hazarika,received the Padma Vibhushan award from the President.

Painter Jatin Das,Sarod exponent Pandit Buddhadev Das Gupta,classical vocalist T V Gopalkrishnan,film director Mira Nair,noted sculptor Anish Kapoor,eminent astrophysicist Shashikumar Chitre,oncologist Suresh Advani,cardiologist Dvi Shetty,educationist Shantaram Mujumdar were among the Padma Bhushan awardees.

Ronen Sen,who played a key role in the finalisation of the Indo-US nuclear deal,economist Arvind Panagariya,leading exponent of the history of Indian art Vidya Dehejia and industrialist M V Subbiah also received the Padma Bhushan,

Nonagenarians Khaled Choudhury and Sunil Janah who were awarded the Padma Bhushan for their contribution to theater and photography could not make it to the ceremony due to their advanced age.

Music composer Vanraj Bhatia,noted exponent of Manipuri historical ballads Nameirakpam Ibemni Devi,playwrights Moti Lal Kemmu and Satish Alekar,theater personalities Joy Michael and Natesan Muthuswamy,classical dance exponent Kalamandalam Sivan Nambootiri were among the Padma Shri awardees.

For all the latest India News, download Indian Express App