Election Results 2014 – South: Amma wave in Tamil Nadu; Shashi Tharoor survives BJP scare

Tamil Nadu has witnessed an Amma wave with the AIADMK winning in 37 of the 39 Lok Sabha seats.

By: Express News Service | New Delhi | Updated: May 17, 2014 6:07:41 pm

Tamil Nadu has witnessed an Amma wave with the AIADMK winning in 37 of the 39 Lok Sabha seats. DMK drew a blank after winning 18 seats in 2009. The BJP won the Kannyakumari Lok Sabha seat and PMK won the Dharmapuri seat.

CM J Jayalalithaa’s party has emerged as the third biggest party in the country. DMK’s strongest candidates, Dayanidhi Maran, TR Baalu and A Raja, are among those who have trailed right from the start and lost, indicating a tsunami against the party.

Basking in the glory of an expected historic victory, AIADMK general secretary and Tamil Nadu Chief Minister J Jayalalithaa said the verdict was the expression of love and confidence by the people. Jaya met the press at her Poes Garden residence in the afternoon.

“I wish the new government and Prime Minister well, and hope that the new Centre will be friendly towards Tamil Nadu,” said Jaya, whose main campaign pitch was the establishment of a “friendly government” in which AIADMK had a role to play.

However, the value of her brilliant performance has been negated by the BJP upsurge, making support from AIADMK irrelevant for forming the government at the Centre.

Meanwhile, her rival M Karunanidhi of the DMK conceded defeat, and congratulated BJP and Narendra Modi for the success in elections. His party, added Karunanidhi, will continue to work for the people without being disheartened by the defeat. The party trailed in all the seats it contested – including in third position in at least a few of them.

There was no sign of any Modi wave in the State, with NDA allies coming at a poor third in most of the seats barring two.

In the midst of an Amma wave in Tamil Nadu, there was an absorbing national contest at the far end of the country. At Kanyakumari constituency, BJP State president Pon Radhakrishnan fought a closely contested battle with H Vasanthakumar of the Congress. As the counting progresses, the two swapped lead several times.

Dharmapuri in western Tamil Nadu is the only other seat where AIADMK lost. There, PMK’s Anbumani Ramadoss won the contest. (inputs from Gopu Mohan) 

In Karnataka, BJP has won 17 seats and Congress in 9. JD(S) won in the remaining two seats. BJP candidates Yeddyurappa and Sreeramulu have won with huge margins in Shimoga and Bellary respectively. Congress leader Veerappa Moily lost to BJP’s Bache Gowda in Chikkballapur.

BJP general secretary H N Ananth Kumar is set to return for a sixth term in Bangalore South as the Congress candidate Nandan Nilekani conceded defeat.

“I am going to continue working actively for Bengaluru and for the party,” Nilekani said, adding that he had no regrets and had a great time.

Other notable BJP leaders who registered massive victories include former chief ministers B S Yeddyurappa, D V Sadananda Gowda, state BJP president Prahlad Joshi and, the only woman candidate of the BJP, Shobha Karandlaje registered massive victories in the polls.

Yeddyurappa won by what is likely to be the highest margin of victory in the state at 2.4 lakh votes.

The victory of Karandlaje in Udupi Chikamagalur, Nalin Kumar Kateel (1,43,709 margin) in Dakshina Kannada and Ananth Kumar Hegde (1,40,700 margin) in Uttara Kannada by massive margins in the range of one lakh stands testimony to the Modi wave in the coastal region of Karnataka.

In Kerala, Congress-led UDF won 12 seats, down from last election’s tally of 16, and CPI (M)-led LDF doubled its previous tally and settled for 8.

BJP veteran O Rajagopal  gave a tough fight for Congress heavyweight Shashi Tharoor in Thiruvananthapuram. The two candidates exchanged lead after almost every counting round ended. However, BJP’s hopes of winning their maiden election in Kerala were dashed and Tharoor emerged victorious in the end. The Left candidate Bennet Abraham, who expected consolidation of Nadar community, is finished third position.

Other notable candidate who lost was CPI (M) politburo member M A Baby lost. (inputs from Shaju Philip) 

In Andhra Pradesh, YSRCP has won 10 seats and TDP 16. While TRS swept Telangana region by winning 11. The Congress has won just 2 seats and BJP registered 3. BJP leader Purandeswari  lost in Rajampet to YSRCP candidate Midhun Reddy and veteran Congress leader Kishore Chandra Deo lost in Aruku. Y S Jaganmohan Reddy’s mother Vijayamma lost in Visakhapatnam. TRS chief K Chandrashekar Rao and his daughter K Kavitha have won the election in Medak and Nizamabad respectively.

ASSEMBLY ELECTIONS: TDP is leading in 106 seats (Seemandhra) and TRS is leading in 60 seats in Telangana. While Congress drew a blank in Seemandhra.




For all the latest India News, download Indian Express App