Follow Us:
Wednesday, February 19, 2020

JD(U) pits Speaker against Paswan son, ex-IAS officer to take on Meira

Party set to name Sharad Yadav from Madhepura today.

Patna | Updated: March 16, 2014 9:31:22 am

The JD(U), which on Saturday announced six candidates for the Lok Sabha polls, has fielded Assembly Speaker Uday Narayan Choudhary in Jamui against LJP’s Chirag Paswan, son of Ram Vilas Paswan, and retired IAS officer K P Ramaiah against Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar in Sasaram.

Party general secretary KC Tyagi told The Indian Express in Delhi that JD(U) chief Sharad Yadav will contest in Madhepura, from where he is the sitting MP. He said there was no substance in the speculation that he may shift to the safer Nalanda constituency. Sharad, when asked about his candidature, said the party will make an announcement on Sunday along with more candidates.

The party’s first list was on predictable lines with sitting MP Mahabali Singh contesting from Karakat. Minister Jitan Ram Manjhi will be the JD(U) candidate from Gaya and MLA Kaushal Yadav will contest from Nawada against BJP’s Giriraj Singh and RJD’s Rajballabh Yadav. The party has fielded a Kushwaha candidate, Bagi Kumar Verma, from Aurangabad — against two Rajputs, Congress’s Nikhil Kumar and BJP’s Sushil Kumar Singh. CM Nitish Kumar has already announced candidates for Valmiki Nagar (Vaidya Nath Mahto), West Champaran (Prakash Jha) and East Champaran (Avnish Kumar Singh).

Although there were reports of disagreement between Nitish and Sharad for Khagaria and Buxar seats, the matter has been resolved. Sharad reportedly vetoed Nitish’s attempt to give ticket to new entrant Shakuni Choudhary. The party has now decided to give ticket to sitting MP Dinesh Chandra Yadav.

Sources said after working out a seat-sharing arrangement with the CPI, JD(U) was now trying to reach an understanding with the CPM as well. But the main hitch was that the Ujiarpur seat, which the CPM had demanded, was held by JD(U)’s Ashwamedh Devi and was, therefore, not negotiable. The JD(U) has already given the Begusarai seat of Monazir Hassan to the CPI.

In Jharkhand, the JD(U) has sealed a multi-party understanding. It will contest eight seats — Giridih, Palmau, Khunti, Gonda, Singhbhum, Lohardaga, Jamshedpur and Koderma. CPI has got three seats — Hazaribagh, Dumka and a seat which is yet to be finalised. CPM has got Ranchi and Rajmahal, and Marxist Co-ordination Committee has got Dhanbad.

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest India News, download Indian Express App.

0 Comment(s) *
* The moderation of comments is automated and not cleared manually by