Follow Us:
Saturday, September 18, 2021

Elections 2014 Phase 7 round up: Bengal records 81 pc voter turnout; 73 pc polling in Punjab

Vadodara from where BJP’s Prime Ministerial candidate Narendra Modi is contesting, topped the charts with 50.46 percent polling.

By: Express News Service | New Delhi |
Updated: April 30, 2014 10:08:01 pm

Voting began on a peaceful note for phase 7 of Lok Sabha elections. Several heavyweights, including L K Advani, Narendra Modi and Sonia Gandhi are in the fray. Here are the highlights:

7.20 pm: West Bengal records highest voter turnout for 9 seats with 81.35 per cent. Deputy EC Vinod Zutshi says the polling percentage in Bengal is expected to be 83 per cent.

7.18 pm: Voter turnout in Dadra and Nagar Haveli is 85 pc and 76 pc in Daman Diu: EC

7.16 pm: 73 per cent turnout for 13 Lok Sabha seats in Punjab, 60 per cent in seven seats in Bihar: EC

7.15 pm: Voter turnout in Andhra Pradesh was 70% as against 67.71% in 2009: Vinod Zutshi, Deputy EC

7.12 pm: Gujarat records 62 per cent voter tunrout for all 26 Lok Sabha seats.

7.10 pm: Uttar Pradesh sees 57.10 per cent polling for 14 seats while Jammu and Kashmir recorded 25.62 per cent polling: Vinod Zutshi, Deputy EC

6.00 pm: Vadodara from where BJP’s Prime Ministerial candidate Narendra Modi is contesting, topped the charts with 68.06 percent polling till 5 pm.

4:16 pm: About 45 per cent of the voters exercised their franchise in the first six hours of polling in seven states and two Union Territories on Wednesday. READ FULL STORY

4:10 pm: Gujarat is seeing a heavy turn-out of voters as the state clocked a voting percentage of 47.60 percent till 3 pm on Wednesday.

3:55 pm: BJP says we respect Election Commission, will follow what they say.

3:35 pm: In Punjab where elections are taking place for 13 parliamentary constituencies a little over 41 per cent of the voters has cast their ballot till 3 pm. READ FULL STORY

3:00 pm: Six hours after polling began in Gujarat has clocked a voting percentage of 36 percent on Wednesday. Vadodara from where BJP’s Prime Ministerial candidate Narendra Modi is contesting, topped the charts with 50.46 percent polling. READ FULL STORY

2.24 pm: The Election Commission has directed the Gujarat administration to file complaint/FIR against Narendra Modi for violating election law. The poll panel further asked the Gujarat administration to furnish a compliance report by 6 PM today.

2:09 pm: Pole Panel acts against Narendra Modi over addressing a press conference and posting a selfie with BJP’s symbol on the polling day in Ahmedabad on Wednesday.

2:04 pm: Until 1 pm: Vadodara gives out an official figure of 50% Anand: 33.84% with 12.22% recorded in the last two hours.

1.01 pm: Congress leader Amarinder Singh said that Navjot Singh Sidhu would have been a tougher contestant from Amritsar than BJP leader Arun Jaitley whom he dismissed as a “nominal candidate”

12.57 pm: Brisk voting is underway in most of the seven states and two Union Territories in the seventh phase of Lok Sabha elections.

12.25 pm: BJP hits back at Congress for complaining against Narendra Modi to Election Commission, saying, “One party is busy campaigning while the other is busy complaining.”

12:07 pm: Polling percentage until 11 am reaches 34% in Vadodara and 26.66% in Anand. Jenu Devan, DEO Chhota Udepur said the voting percentage was between 28 to 30% in the constituency until 11am. Vadodara collector Dr. Vinod Rao cast his vote at 10.30am.

11:49 am: Congress demands FIR against Modi for violating model code of conduct in Ahmedabad on Wednesday.
Read: Congress complains to EC, demand FIR against Modi

11:38 am: BJP leader LK Advani  casts his vote in Gandhinagar on Wednesday

11: 34 am: Around 19 per cent polling was recorded till 10 am in seven Lok Sabha seats of Bihar

11:10 am: An embarrassed Union Minister K Chiranjeevi beat a hasty retreat on Wednesday after a youth objected
to his jumping the queue to cast his vote in a polling booth in Hyderabad.
Read: Chiranjeevi jumps queue, voters not amused

10:51 am: BJP President Rajnath Singh casts his vote in Lucknow on Wednesday.

10:25 am: 12 per cent voters exercised their franchise in the first two hours in Uttar Pradesh.


10:00 am: Controversy has erupted over Narendra Modi holding a press conference and taking a selfie with ‘lotus’ (BJP’s election symbol) on the polling day in Ahmedabad.



9:31 am: Punjab chief minister Parkash Singh Badal casts his vote in Bhatinda, Punjab on Wednesday.

9: 27 am: Congress leader Shriprakash Jaiswal casts his vote in Kanpur.

9:08 am: Narendra Modi addresses voters after casting his vote in Ahmedabad. “I want to apologise to people of Gujarat for I was not able to give much time to the voters here.  I was able to give only 18 hours to Gujarat campaign during my entire election campaign schedule”.

9:04 am: Narendra Modi casts his vote in Ahmedabad.

8:54 am: BJP’s prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi arrived to cast his vote at a polling station in Ahmedabad.

8:44 am: Polling also began in seven parliamentary constituencies in the fourth phase of the Lok Sabha elections in Bihar amidst tight security on Wednesday.

8: 45 am: Polling for Srinagar Lok Sabha constituency in Jammu and Kashmir began on Wednesday amid tight security.

8: 40 am: Polling underway for 17 Lok Sabha constituencies and 119 Assembly seats in Telangana amid excitement of electing the first government of the new state that will formally come into existence on June 2. READ: Polling begins for Lok Sabha, Assembly seats in Telangana

8:38 am: Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) chief Mayawati casts her vote in Lucknow on Wednesday. “There is no BJP wave or Modi wave. Only wave is in media or in opinion polls”, said Mayawati as she arrives to caste her vote.

8:35 am: Polling for 14 Lok Sabha seats in Uttar Pradesh began on Wednesday in the fourth phase of elections in the state to decide the fate of 233 candidates including BJP chief Rajnath Singh and Congress President Sonia Gandhi. READ: Polling for 14 Lok Sabha seats begins in UP; Sonia, Rajnath in fray

8:15 am: Congress candidate from Vadodara, Madhusudan Mistry, who is contesting against Narendra Modi, has express confidence that he will win convincingly.


7:51 am: Rajnath Singh, Murli Manohar Joshi and Arun Jaitley are also in fray in the seventh phase of elections.

7:40 am: Polling is being held in 89 seats across seven states and two Union Territories.

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest India News, download Indian Express App.

  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.
0 Comment(s) *
* The moderation of comments is automated and not cleared manually by