EC orders repolling in three booths of Nagaland

EPNO said that it would not allow counting of votes if the electorate of Ladaigarh were not allowed to vote.

By: Press Trust of India | Kohima | Published: May 8, 2014 3:26:43 pm

The Election Commission on Thursday ordered repoll in three polling stations of the lone Nagaland Lok Sabha parliamentary constituency on May 10.

“EC has declared repolling in Akhakhu Polling Station No 2 and Naltoqa PS No 25 in Zunheboto district and Ladaigarh Polling Station No 1 in Longleng district,” Chief Electoral Officr Sentiyanger Imchen said here.

The repoll will be conducted from 7 AM to 4 PM on May 10 in the three polling stations, he said.

In Akhakhu polling station out of 719 voters, 709 has casted their votes while in Naltoqa out of 1008 voters, 997 had exercised their franchise on April 9.

As many as 302 voters of Ladaigarh PS No 1 could not cast their votes due to alleged forcible occupation of the designated polling station by Assam police.

The Eastern Nagaland Public Organisation(EPNO) had written to the Chief Secretary that it would not allow counting of votes throughout the four ENPO districts if the electorate of Ladaigarh PS were not allowed to exercise their franchise.

For all the latest India News, download Indian Express App