Denied Cong ticket, Subba files papers as Independent

Denied Cong ticket, Subba files papers as Independent

Subba (56) not only has several cases pending against him, including a rape case.

Controversial Congress MP Moni Kumar Subba, who was denied a ticket by the ruling party, has filed his nomination for the Tezpur Lok Sabha constituency as an Independent candidate Friday. His move threatens to slice away a sizeable portion of the Congress vote-base there.

Subba (56) not only has several cases pending against him – including a rape case – but also is the richest candidate for the first phase of Lok Sabha election in Assam when five constituencies go to poll on April 7. Subba’s affidavit shows that he has property worth Rs 205 crore, which includes moveable assets of Rs. 59.17 crore and immovable assets worth Rs. 146.33 crore.

The former Congress MP’s affidavit also gives a break-up of the assets of his two wives Jyoti Subba and Tilamaya Chong, who together possess moveable assets worth Rs 33.63 crore and liabilities worth Rs. 14.2 crore in their names.

Subba’s joining the fray has already sent warning signals through the rank and file of the Congress that has fielded AICC secretary Bhupen Bora (43) to recover the Tezpur seat that was won by Joseph Toppo of the Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) in 2009, while APCC president Bhubaneswar Kalita has issued a warning to Subba to withdraw or face disciplinary action.


“The party has already warned him (Subba) and will wait till March 24, the last date of withdrawal of nominations. In case he doesn’t withdraw, then APCC will be compelled to take disciplinary action against him,” said Kalita.

But the best that the Congress can do is to expel him for six years, which, however, cannot help reduce the extent of damage his candidature will cause to the Congress candidate.

Altogether ten candidates have filed their nomination papers for Tezpur, which includes RP Sharma (BJP), Joseph Toppo (AGP) and Bhupen Bora (Congress), apart from nominees of the CPI(M), CPI(ML), AIFB, TMC and three independents, including Subba.