Follow Us:
Sunday, July 22, 2018

Congress wins Jharkhand’s Lohardaga assembly by-poll

Congress candidate Sukhdeo Bhagat won the seat, defeating BJP-backed All Jharkhand Students Union's (AJSU) candidate Niru Bhagat.

By: Express News Service | Ranchi | Updated: December 18, 2015 1:52:49 am

Congress has won the bypoll to the Lohardaga Assembly seat, the result for which was declared on Thursday.

Pradesh Congress Committee president Sukhdeo Bhagat’s victory over AJSU’s Niru Shanti Bhagat comes just as the Raghubar Das-led NDA government is preparing to mark its first anniversary later this month.

While Sukhdeo’s victory was anticipated in the ST-reserved seat, his margin of 23,228 votes was a surprise. The victory is a shot in the arm for the Congress, which lost the support of its alliance partner JMM over Sukhdeo’s candidature.

For all the latest India News, download Indian Express App