Follow Us:
Wednesday, April 21, 2021

Congress candidate Manohar Lal Sharma booked for attacking BJP candidate Nirmal Singh

The Congress minister had attacked Nirmal Singh when he was talking to a group of people in the area last evening.

By: Express News Service | Jammu |
Updated: December 20, 2014 4:49:42 pm

Amidst brisk polling during the fifth phase of assembly elections in Jammu & Kashmir on Saturday, Congress candidate and sitting minister in Omar Abdullah government, Dr Manohar Lal Sharma, has landed in trouble after police booked him on charges of attacking a police officer on duty and also his opponent in the fray in Billawar.

According to Deputy Commissioner, Kathua, Shahid Iqbal Choudhary, non-bailable warrants may be issued against Sharma for assaulting a government official on duty, and also contesting candidate of an opponent party.

The Congress minister, who is seeking reelection from Billawar for the third time, had attacked BJP candidate Dr Nirmal Singh when he was talking to a group of people in the area last evening. Sharma along with his supporters had damaged the vehicle of BJP candidate and when a DySP tried to intervene, they assaulted him as well.

Earlier on Friday evening, another BJP candidate Ravinder Raina was injured seriously in an attack allegedly by some  Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) workers at Lamberi in Nowshera assembly constituency. Raina was reportedly interacting with local people in Lamberi when some PDP suoporters started pelting stones on him. He was immediately shifted to Sub District Hospital Nowshera from where he was later referred to Government Medical college hospital at Jammu.

Meanwhile, brisk polling continued in all the 20 assembly constituencies in Jammu, Rajouri and Kathua districts where 213 candidates including Deputy Chief Minister Tara Chand are in the fray.

By 12 noon, there had been 41 per cent polling in Bani, Basohli (27), Kathua (34.19), Billawar (29.88), Hiranagar (SC) (30.47), Nagrota (34), Gandinagar (24), Jammu East (19.20), Jammu West (25.80), Bishnah (28), R. S. Pura (SC) (38), Suchetgarh (32), Marh (38.28), Raipur Domana (SC) (33.28), Akhnoor (38.52), Chhamb (SC) (32), Nowshara (25.24), Darhal (27.21), Rajouri (28.04), and Kalakote (20.65).

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest India News, download Indian Express App.

  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.
0 Comment(s) *
* The moderation of comments is automated and not cleared manually by