BJP will win 2013 assembly polls in MP: Anant Kumar

Kumar expressed confidence that the party would come to power in MP for the 3rd time in a row.

Written by Agencies | Khandwa | Published: September 11, 2012 5:55:17 pm

BJP general secretary Anant Kumar today expressed confidence that the party would come to power in Madhya Pradesh for the third time in a row by winning the 2013 assembly polls.

“We will certainly win the polls in 2013 with a new record by winning more than 173 seats that the party had won in 2003,” Kumar,who is in-charge of BJP in Madhya Pradesh,said this after inaugurating a two-day meeting of state BJP executive.

“To ensure victory in these polls,the partymen must visit villages and inform people about Shivraj Singh Chouhan government’s achievements in ensuring all-round development,good governance. Also focus on the step-motherly treatment meted out by the Centre towards the BJP ruled state,” he said.

Praising Chouhan for pulling the state out of the list of BIMARU states,Kumar said that the state had even left Gujarat behind by achieving 18 per cent growth rate.

He also praised the state government for raising the irrigation potential of the state from seven lakh hectares to the present 22 lakh hectares.

Referring to former Prime Minister Atal Bihari Vajpayee’s dream river-linking scheme,he said that the BJP government in MP had taken steps to fulfil the ambitious plan by announcing the scheme of linking Narmada with Kshipra and Kalisindh to bring revolution in Malwa/Nimar region at a cost of Rs 20,000 crore.

He said that on the power front as well,Madhya Pradesh had done a commendable job,as the power generation had gone up to 6,000 MW in 2003 to the present 6000 MW.

“With the implementation of the upcoming power projects both in government and private sector,more than 12,000 MW power would be added in the state’s total capacity,” he said.

State BJP president Prabhat Jha highlighted a number of schemes launched by the Chouhan government for the welfare of the people,especially the recent Mukhya Mantri Teerth Darshan Yojna and added that after flagging off a train under this scheme,senior BJP leader L K Advani had got emotional.

He also informed on the occasion that he had asked the educationists to draft a syllabus for politicians.

The BJP leaders,besides remembering the party stalwarts like Shyama Prasad Mukherjee,Guru Golwalkar and Kusha Bhau Thakre,also remembered noted playback singer Kishore Kumar,famous literary figure Makhanlal Chaturvedi and revolutionary leader Tantya Bheel.

For all the latest India News, download Indian Express App