58 per cent polling in seven seats in Biharhttps://indianexpress.com/article/india/politics/about-19-per-cent-polling-on-seven-seats-in-bihar-till-10-am/

58 per cent polling in seven seats in Bihar

An elderly woman travelled to a polling booth on crutches to exercise her franchise.

Despite scorching sun, about 58 per cent voter turnout was recorded at the end of polling in seven Lok Sabha seats in Bihar in the fourth phase of Lok Sabha election.

It was 12 per cent more than recorded in the 2009 elections.

Sixty per cent polling was recorded at Madhepura constituency where JD(U) president Sharad Yadav is contesting.

Madhubani witnessed 56 per cent, Jhanjharpur 56 per cent, Darbhanga 57 per cent, Samastipur 55 per cent, Begusarai 64 per cent and Khagaria 55 per cent at the end of polling at 6 pm, Chief Election Officer Ajay Nayak told reporters.


A bypoll is also being held in Sahebpur Kamal Assembly seat following resignation of former minister Parveen Amanullah from the Nitish Kumar Cabinet.

Sixty-one per cent voting was recorded in the bypoll there.

Sharad Yadav, crickter-turned BJP leader Kiriti Azad, former Union ministers M A A Fatmi and Hukumdeo Narayan Yadav are among 94 candidates whose fates have been sealed today.

With completion of polling today, 27 seats of a total of 40 in Bihar have witnessed voting. The remaining 13 will go to poll on May 7 and May 12.