Mayawati replaces personal aide with another as BSP general secretary

In the latest list, Mayawati has removed the name of Manoj Kumar — personal attendant who was named as national general secretary in the list of party office-bearers sent to the EC in 2014.

BSP supremo Mayawati

BSP CHIEF Mayawati has appointed her personal attendant, R Sridhar, as the party’s national general secretary, according to the list of office-bearers sent to the Election Commission on June 25 this year.

In the latest list, accessed by The Indian Express under the Right to Information Act, Mayawati has removed the name of Manoj Kumar — another personal attendant who was named as national general secretary in the list of party office-bearers sent to the EC in 2014.

According to party sources, both Kumar and Sridhar work as personal attendants at Mayawati’s bungalow in Delhi. Both of them could not be reached for comment.

Watch What Else Is making News


Mayawati sent a new list of her party’s office-bearers after Swami Prasad Maurya resigned from the post of national general secretary on June 22.

While Mayawati is party president, Rajya Sabha MP Rajaram is the national vice-president. The other general secretaries are senior leaders Satish Chandra Misra, Naseemuddin Siddiqui and Rajya Sabha MP Veer Singh.

Asked if Sridhar was a party leader, BSP treasurer Ambeth Rajan, who handles the party’s communication with the EC, said he would speak on the issue on Monday. However, he did not respond to calls or text messages Monday.

“Sridhar is like an employee. He worked as a telephone operator. She appoints these people, who are employed for work like cleaning her bungalow, as party office-bearers to avoid any coup-like situation in the party. These people are selected to avoid appointing a genuine leader who could oppose her policies,” said former BSP MP Pramod Kureel, who left the party in 2012.

This year, Mayawati has faced several instances of rebellion, with more than a dozen party MLAs joining other parties.

The party has listed its secretaries as Mewa Lal Gautam, Vinod Kumar, Mahesh Chand and Chandar Pal Singh. Barring Singh, the other three are not well known outside her bungalows in Lucknow and Delhi.

In 2008, following speculation that party vice-president Rajaram was Mayawati’s political heir, the BSP had announced in a press release that it had named Alok Verma as its new vice-president. The party, however, did not include Verma’s name in the list of office-bearers sent to the EC.

The BSP’s constitution says that the vice-president will perform all the functions of the president in the latter’s absence, provided that all decisions are put up before the president for ex post facto approval.

“In the event of the unfortunate demise of the national president, the national vice president shall immediately and automatically assume charge as national president and shall continue to function as such until the end of the current term of the national president,” says the party constitution.

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest India News, download Indian Express App.

News Assist
Next Story