Follow Us:
Sunday, July 22, 2018

Speaker suspends 12 Andhra MPs from LS over Telangana protest

Action was taken under rule Rule 374(A) of Rules of Procedure of the Lok Sabha.

Written by PTI | New Delhi | Published: August 23, 2013 2:24:52 pm

Cracking the whip,Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar on Friday suspended for at least five sittings 12 members from Andhra Pradesh who have been agitating against decision to form Telangana and paralysing the House since the current session began on August 5.

Related: Govt seeks deal to climb out of Telangana well

The Speaker named the members – 8 from Congress and 4 TDP for “grave disorder” after two brief adjournments of the House due to disruptions by their continued protests. All of them belong to Andhra and Rayalaseema regions.

Related: Govt gives no date on Telangana formation,promises to look into issues

The action was taken under rule Rule 374(A) of Rules of Procedure of the Lok Sabha. As per the rule,a member after being named by the Speaker stands “automatically suspended from the service of the House for five consecutive sittings or the remainder of the session,whichever is less”.

Related: Sonia asks Telangana leaders to exercise restraint,maintain brotherhood

The rule also states: “Provided that the House may,at any time,on a motion being made,resolve that such suspension be terminated.”

The rule regarding automatic suspension is applied in the event of “grave disorder occasioned by a member coming into the Well of the House or abusing the rules of the House persistently and willfully obstructing its business by shouting slogans”.

Related: Telangana issue interrupts proceedings in Rajya Sabha for second day

The action came a day after the government’s effort to bring a motion for suspension of 10 members of the two parties was scuttled by a united opposition.

Related: Motion to suspend TDP,Cong members on Telangana create uproar in Lok Sabha

This is the second instance of suspension of members in the present Lok Sabha. More than a year back,eight pro-Telangana Congress members had been suspended from the House for similar reasons.

For all the latest India News, download Indian Express App