Follow Us:
Friday, February 21, 2020

Jayalalithaa sworn in as Tamil Nadu CM for third time

Jaya's Cabinet will have 33 ministers but she will retain Home portfolio.

Written by Agencies | Chennai | Published: May 16, 2011 12:07:23 pm

AIADMK chief Jayalalithaa was sworn in on Monday as Tamil Nadu Chief Minister for a third time along with 33 ministers at a glittering function at the Madras University centenary auditorium here.

This was the same venue where she took over as Tamil Nadu Chief Minister for the first time in 1991.

Tamil Nadu Governor Surjit Singh Barnala administered the oath of office and secrecy. 63-year-old Jayalalithaa and others took the oath in Tamil and in the name of god.

This would be the largest-ever ministry in the state since independence. Jayalalithaa will retain the Home and police portfoliso.

The swearing-in ceremony was attended by Gujarat Chief Minister Narendra Modi,former Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu and CPI General Secretary A B Bardhan,among others.

In keeping with Tamil Nadu’s political practice,it will be a single-party government despite AIADMK winning the elections in alliance with some other parties.

Jayalalithaa’s new ministry is a blend of experience and youth. Most of the ministers are making their maiden entry into the state cabinet. While 25 of the 34 members to be sworn in today will be youngsters and new faces,it will also include veterans like O Pannerselvam who was chief minister for a short time in 2001 when Jaya could not assume the post because of legal problems. he will hold Finance now.

The other old-timers include K A Sengottaiyan (Agriculture). However,other stalwarts including Jaya Kumar and Valarmathi do not find a place in the Cabinet.

Jayalalithaa steered the AIADMK alliance to a spectacular victory in the elections by winning 200 of the total 234 seats.

Jayalalilthaa,who had earlier ruled the state in 1991-96 and 2001-06,said,”My first priority will be to restore law and order. The state’s economy has been totally derailed and there has been a lot of regression during the last five years.

“It is almost like having gone back to dark ages,” she said,adding the state had to be brought back to the path of growth,development and prosperity.

Minsiters and their portfolios:

(1) J Jayalalithaa – Chief Minister,Public,Indian Administrative Service,Indian Police Service,Indian Forest Service,General Administration,District Revenue Officers,Prevention of Corruption Police,Home

(2) O Panneerselvam – Finance

(3) K A Sengottaiyan – Agriculture

(4) Natham R Viswanathan – Electricity,

Prohibition and Excise

(5) K P Munisamy – Municipal Administration,

Rural Development

(6) C shanmugavelu – Industries

(7) R Vaithilingam – Housing and Urban Development

(8) S S Krishnamoorthy – Food

(9) C Karuppasamy – Animal Husbandry

(10) P Palaniappan – Higher Education

(11) C Ve Shanmugam – School Education

(12) Sellur K Raju – Cooperation

(13) K T Pachamal – Forests

(14) Edappadi K Palanisamy -Highways and Minor Ports

(15) S P Shanmuganathan – HR & CE

(16) K V Ramalingam – Public Works

(17) S P Velumani – Special Programme Implementation

(18) T K M Chinnayya – Backward Classes

(19) M C Sampath – Rural Industries

(20) P Thangamani – Revenue

(21) G Senthamizhan – Information

(22) S Gokula Indira – Commercial Taxes and Registration

(23) Selvi Ramajayam – Social Welfare

(24) B V Ramanaa – Handloom and Textiles

(25) R B Udhayakumar – Information and Technology

(26) N Subramanian – Adi Dravidar and Tribal Welfare

(27) V Senthil Balaji – Transport

(28) N Mariyam Pichai – Environment

(29) K A Jayapal – Fisheries

(30) E Subaya – Law,Courts and Prisons

(31) Budhichandhiran – Tourism

(32) S T Chellapandian – Labour

(33) Dr V S vijay – Health

(34) N R Sivapathi – Sports and Youth Welfare

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest India News, download Indian Express App.

0 Comment(s) *
* The moderation of comments is automated and not cleared manually by