Follow Us:
Monday, June 25, 2018

HC notices to Ajit Jogi,12 others in 2001 defection case

In 2001,when Jogi was the CM,Tarun Chatterjee,Paresh Bagbahara,and 10 others had quit BJP.

Written by Agencies | Bilaspur | Published: January 4, 2012 7:12:42 pm

The Chhattisgarh High Court has issued notices to former Chief Minister Ajit Jogi and 12 MLAs who had quit BJP.

In 2001,when Jogi was the Chief Minister,Tarun Chatterjee,Paresh Bagbahara,Madan Singh Dahriya,Shukrajit Nayak and eight others had quit BJP and formed Chhattisgarh Vikas Party and erstwhile Assembly Speaker Rajendra Prasad Shukl had granted recognition to the outfit.

Later,when all of them joined Congress the very next day,it was challenged,but the Speaker turned down the objection.

Consequently,in 2003,the then leader of opposition Nand Kumar Sai (BJP) moved HC against the speaker’s decision.

Justice Satish Agnihotri of High Court yesterday heard the matter and issued notices to Jogi and the 12 MLAs.

For all the latest India News, download Indian Express App