Follow Us:
Wednesday, July 18, 2018

Goa MLAs,who drove to Assembly without helmets,to be issued challans

Rajendra Arlekar said that he has not yet been approached for permission to issue challans.

Written by PTI | Panaji | Published: April 8, 2013 1:04:45 pm

Nine legislators who violated traffic rules last week and rode to the State Legislative Assembly complex here without wearing helmet,will be issued challans,a senior official said today.

Transport Director Arun Desai said the Enforcement wing of the transport department has already procured the documents of the bikes which were rode by the legislators. On Friday,the erring legislators arrived at the Assembly session,riding five bikes crossing national highway without wearing a helmet. “All the legislators have approached us with documents,” Desai said,adding the issue was already discussed with State Transport Minister Ramakrishna Dhavalikar.

“We will issue them challans as per the MV Act,” the minister said. Five BJP legislators Glenn Ticlo,Pramod Sawant,Michael Lobo,Nilesh Cabral and Carlose Almeida; three independent ones – Avertano Furtado (state labour minister),Rohan Khaunte and Naresh Sawal,and Goa Vikas Party legislator Fransisco Miccky Pacheco were the violators.

The bikes were rode by Ticlo,Furtado,Khaunte,Pacheco and Almeida. Almeida was riding a bike without a number plate,while Pacheco had a number plate only at the rear side and Khaunte’s bike had number plate which was not as per the prescribed format.

Speaker of Legislative Assembly Rajendra Arlekar said that the transport department has not yet approached him seeking him for permission to issue challans. “I have spoken to them (the legislators). But I will not like to bring my discussion with them in public domain,” he said.

Desai said that permission of the Speaker is not required as the offence has occurred outside the assembly complex on the highway.

For all the latest India News, download Indian Express App