Follow Us:
Wednesday, July 18, 2018

Congress wins Periyapatna Assembly seat in Karnataka

The poll was postponed to May 28 from May 5 following death of BJP candidate Sannamoge Gowda.

Written by PTI | Bangalore | Published: May 31, 2013 4:24:53 pm

Ruling Congress candidate K Venkatesh today won the elections to Periyapatna Assembly seat in Karnataka,defeating JDS nominee K Mahadev by 2,088 votes. The former Minister polled 62,045 votes and Mahadev secured 59,957,as results were declared after counting today,official sources said.

The poll in this segment in Mysore,the home district of Chief Minister Siddaramaiah,was postponed to May 28 from May 5,when elections to all other constituencies were held,following the death of BJP candidate Sannamoge Gowda on April 29.

With this victory,the Congress tally in the 224-member Karnataka Assembly increased to 122,while the JDS and BJP have a strength of 40 members each.

For all the latest India News, download Indian Express App