Cabinet clears formation of Telangana,Hyderabad to be joint capital for 10 years

A Group of Ministers has been constituted for further action on the formation of Telanagana.

Written by Express News Service | New Delhi | Published: October 3, 2013 8:04:59 pm

Clearing the hurdle for the bifurcation of Andhra Pradesh,the Union Cabinet on Thursday cleared the formation of a separate state of Telangana. The Cabinet also decided that Hyderabad would remain the joint capital for a period of 10 years.

Related: BJP accuses Cong of clumsy handling of Telangana

A Group of Ministers (GoM) was also constituted for further action on the formation of Telanagana.

Related: Formation of Telangana to take six months

Following this decision,a resolution is slated to be sent to Andhra Pradesh Assembly regarding the formation of the new state. After formation,Telangana will be the 29th state of India.

Full coverage: Statehood for Telangana

The Congress Working Committee (CWC),which met on July 30,had passed a resolution requesting the Centre “to take steps in accordance with the Constitution to form a separate state of Telangana… within a definite time frame”.

There have been continuing protests in the non-Telangana parts of Andhra Pradesh against the decision to carve out the new state. The Monsoon Session of Parliament also witnessed strong protests by Congress and TDP MPs from the Seemandhra region against any move to divide Andhra Pradesh.

Related: Jagan calls for 72-hour bandh

“The Cabinet has given its approval for the creation of a new state of Telangana,” Home Minister Sushil Kumar Shinde told reporters after the meeting that lasted more than two hours.

He said it was decided that Hyderabad will be the common capital of the two bifucated states for 10 years.

After the creation of the new state,the security and guarantees including fundamental rights of the people of coastal Andhra,Rayalaseema and Telangana will be ensured,he said.

The new state will have a geographical area of 10 of the 23 districts of undivided Andhra Pradesh.

The decision brings to fruition the announcement made by the then Home Minister P Chidambaram on December 9,2009 for creation of Telangana.

(With PTI Inputs)

For all the latest India News, download Indian Express App