Follow Us:
Monday, July 04, 2022

AIADMK gains absolute majority crushing DMK in Tamil Nadu

AIADMK gained an absolute majority winning 121 seats and was leading in 30 others as it stormed to power.

Written by Agencies | New Delhi |
May 13, 2011 10:46:14 am

AIADMK gained an absolute majority winning 121 seats and was leading in 30 others as it stormed to power by handing down a humiliating defeat to arch-rival DMK in the polls to 234-member Tamil Nadu Assembly.

People’s anger against DMK,hit by 2G scam,propelled AIADMK to power on its own,and its allies DMDK (24) and Left parties (13) too capitalised on the anti-incumbency wave in the closely fought elections.

AIADMK supremo Jayalalithaa,who would be taking over the reins of the state for the third time,emerged successful in Srirangam with a margin of over 41,000 votes.

DMDK,which had a lone representation in its founder actor Vijaykant in the outgoing Assembly,emerged as second largest party and would be the principal opposition,relegating DMK to the third spot. DMDK was leading in nine seats.

Best of Express Premium
ExplainSpeaking: Despite the fall, are Indian stock markets still overval...Premium
‘Peter Brook tried to destroy, recreate us. I wasn’t willing to be destro...Premium
In Gujarat, Covid crisis brings estranged couples together for second chancePremium
Many scenarios, similar outcome: Tuticorin plant may not restart, say exp...Premium

For the DMK,it would be the second ever worst poll performance after its 1991 debacle when it managed to get only two seats. DMK has won 14 seats and was ahead in eight more.

DMK’s key ally Congress also faced the wrath of the people and won only five of the 63 constituencies it contested. The PMK,which fielded 31 candidates,could win only two and was leading in one. Viduthlai Chiruthaigal Katchi drew a blank.

All most all senior leaders of DMK front,including TNCC chief K V Thangabalu and DMK veteran K Anbazhgan,were trounced. Other notable leaders who lost include Speaker R Avudiappan,Deputy Speaker V Duraisamy,ministers K N Nehru,

Paruthi Ilamvazhuthi,Veerapandi Arumugam,Suresh Rajan and K Ponmudy.

87-year-old DMK patriarch M Karunanidhi won from his native Tiruvarur seat by a personal record margin of over 50,000 votes for the 12th consecutive time.

JULY 4 SALE! Only for our international readers, monthly pricing starting at just $2.50

📣 Join our Telegram channel (The Indian Express) for the latest news and updates

For all the latest India News, download Indian Express App.

  • Newsguard
  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.
  • Newsguard
0 Comment(s) *
* The moderation of comments is automated and not cleared manually by