Follow Us:
Thursday, June 30, 2022

Ghulam Nabi Azad, Venugopal rushed to Karnataka amid Congress-JD(S) rift

Jharkiholi and Sudhakar are among the seven-eight MLAs identified in the Congress as being opposed to JD(S) leader HD Kumaraswamy continuing as the Chief Minister of Karnataka.

By: Express Web Desk | New Delhi |
Updated: May 28, 2019 8:52:01 pm
karnataka election results, bangalore election results, bangalore news, election result, election results, election results 2019, karnataka election results 2019, live karnataka election, bangalore election results, bangalore election results 2019, election commission of india, ceo karnataka, lok sabha election, lok sabha election results, election result live, election results live update, lok sabha election result 2019, election live counting, election result live counting,, Mandya, Sumalatha, Nikhil Kumaraswamy, Tejasvi Surya, BK Hariprasad, HD Deve Gowda, Krishna Byre Gowda, Sadananda Gowda, PC Mohan, Mallikarjun Kharge, BS Yeddyurappa, Kumaraswamy, Siddaramaiah. Dinesh Gundu Rao (From left) Congress’s Siddaramaiah, JD(S)’s Kumaraswamy and BJP’s Yeddyurappa. (File)

Congress on Tuesday rushed senior party leaders Ghulam Nabi Azad and AICC general secretary in-charge of the state KC Venugopal to Bengaluru to quell discontent within the Congress-JD(S) coalition. This comes amid speculation over the continuation of the year-old fledging JD(S)-Congress government in Karnataka.

Amid reports that two Karnataka Congress MLAs, Ramesh Jharkiholi and K Sudhakar, met BJP leader S M Krishna on Sunday at his residence, PTI reported that Azad and Venugopal were sent to Karnataka to placate the disgruntled state leaders. Azad and Venugopal are likely to hold discussions with the top leaders of the party in the state in order to sort things out.

Jharkiholi and Sudhakar are among the seven-eight MLAs identified in the Congress as being opposed to JD(S) leader HD Kumaraswamy continuing as the Chief Minister of Karnataka.

The duo was among the six Congress MLAs who had travelled to Mumbai in February, allegedly at the behest of the BJP and its state chief B S Yeddyurappa, in an attempt to topple the coalition government.

Best of Express Premium
Efforts to estimate poverty from 2011-21 are commendable, given absence o...Premium
Uddhav Thackeray: The reluctant politician who in the end hung on to chai...Premium
Udaipur killers and Da’wat-e-Islami: the group, its ideology and its growthPremium
UPSC Key-June 29, 2022: Why to read ‘Dumping’ or ‘Gulabi Meenakari’ or ‘H...Premium

Having registered a massive win in the Lok Sabha polls — a clear majority at the Centre and 25 out of 28 seats in Karnataka — the BJP was expected to revive efforts to topple the Kumaraswamy government using the already identified rebels.

Last week, party state unit chief BS Yeddyurappa last week claimed to have numbers to topple coalition government and form a BJP government in the state again.

On Monday, former Karnataka chief minister Siddaramaiah asserted that the JD(S)-Congress government was a “strong” one and ridiculed Yeddyurappa for repeatedly claiming that the coalition would collapse.

Since the coalition took over on May 23, 2018, the BJP has tried to woo over a dozen coalition MLAs in order to reduce the alliance to a minority and stake claim to form a government.

The BJP, with 105 members, is the single-largest party in the 225-member Karnataka Assembly. The ruling coalition has 117 members — 79 of the Congress, 37 of the JD(S) and one of the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP).

UPSC KEY Have you seen our section dedicated to helping USPC aspirants decode daily news in the context of their exams?

📣 Join our Telegram channel (The Indian Express) for the latest news and updates

For all the latest India News, download Indian Express App.

  • Newsguard
  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.
  • Newsguard
0 Comment(s) *
* The moderation of comments is automated and not cleared manually by