Yediyuppa’s first task for newly appointed ministers: Visit flood-hit areas

Yediyuppa’s first task for newly appointed ministers: Visit flood-hit areas

As on Monday evening, the death toll has gone upto 82, while nine persons have been classified as missing in flood and rain-hit Karnataka, where relief and rehabilitation work was underway.

karnataka, karnataka floods, BS Yediyurappa karnataka flood relief, karnataka weather update, Indian express
Karnataka chief minister BS Yediyurappa during the aerial survey he conducted on flood-hit areas in north Karnataka on Monday. Express Photo

Karnataka Chief Minister BS Yediyurappa Tuesday directed the newly inducted 17 ministers to tour the flood-affected districts for two days to assess the relief and rehabilitation operations being undertaken there.

More than three weeks after he was sworn in as chief minister, Yediyurappa on Tuesday expanded his ministry by inducting 17 ministers into his Cabinet.

Speaking at the Cabinet meeting, Yediyurappa said, “The portfolios and the responsibility of the districts would be finalised shortly. Meanwhile, the ministers must immediately commence a study on the woes caused by the inundation and submit a report involving the relief measures before the next cabinet meeting.”

As on Monday evening, the death toll mounted to 82 while nine persons have been declared missing. Districts of north, coastal and Malnad regions were devastated by rains, floods and landslides in the first fortnight of this month.


Briefing reporters after the meeting, Minister J C Madhuswamy said, “The Ministers have been asked to visit all flood-affected areas, hold discussion with people at taluk-levels and gather information from them, and at the district-level we will hold discussion with officials regarding the work that has happened so far and what needs to done both immediately and permanently.”

The ministers in charge for flood-affected districts include Lakshmana Savadi in Belagavi, Shashikala Jolle in Chikkodi (Belagavi), K.S.Eeshwarappa in Bagalakote, Govinda Karjola in Vijayapura, Basavaraj Bommai in Haveri, Jagadeesh Shettar in Dharwad, CC Patil in Gadag, Sriramulu in Bellari in Raichur, CT Ravi in Chikkamagalur, Madhu Swamy in Hassan, S Suresh Kumar in Kodagu, R Ashok in Mysore, V.Sommanna in Chamrajanagar, Kota Srinivas Poojari in Dakshina Kannada and Udupi.

Yediyurappa, who ran a “one-man cabinet” till expansion of his ministry on Tuesday, has held four cabinet meetings so far. Karnataka can have a maximum of 34 Ministers, including the CM.

With this “limited” expansion, 16 Cabinet berths are vacant, leaving space for some of the disqualified former Congress and JDS MLAs who helped bring down the coalition government headed by Kumaraswamy to get on board.