Follow Us:
Thursday, August 18, 2022

Kagwad (Karnataka) Assembly Bye-Election Results 2019 Live: BJP candidate wins by over 18,000 votes

Kagwad (Karnataka) Assembly Bye-Election Results 2019 Live: Get all the updates on Kagwad assembly constituency bye-election results on Kagwad assembly constituency went to polls on December 5.

Kagwad Bye-Election Results 2019: Kagwad constituency went to polls on December 5.

Kagwad (Karnataka) Assembly Bye-Election Results 2019 Live:  BJP candidate Shrimant Balasaheb Patil won by a margin of over 18,557 votes against Congress Bharamgouda Alagouda Kage from the Kagwad constituency. Bye-elections to the seat were held on December 5, and the results are being declared Monday.

The seat is among 17 that fell vacant after rebel MLAs from the Congress and JD(S) parties defected to the BJP in a bid to bring down the coalition government. The MLAs were subsequently disqualified from the House but were allowed by the Supreme Court to the contest the bypolls. Elections to two seats — Rajarajeshwari Nagar and Maski — were not held as separate election petitions challenging the results of the 2018 elections are still pending in the Karnataka High Court.

Follow LIVE updates on Karnataka bypoll results

An overall of 66.25 per cent voter turnout was recorded in the bypolls to 15 constituencies across nine districts of Karnataka.

Subscriber Only Stories
Delhi Confidential: Kerala football club stuck in Tashkent, S-G Tushar Me...Premium
An Expert Explains: Why a stable Kenya is in the interest of Africa and t...Premium
With fund & engineers, Taliban help rebuild gurdwara hit by Islamic S...Premium
The woes of power: A moderate approach to the discom sector might be the ...Premium

In the 2018 Assembly elections in Karnataka, BJP won 104 seats, Congress 80, and the JD(S) 37 seats in the 224-member House. Three seats were won by others.

After BJP failed to muster a majority, Congress and JD(S) forged an alliance to form the government, with HD Kumaraswamy becoming the Chief Minister.

In July 2019, 14 MLAs from the Congress and three from the JD-S quit the Assembly; a trust vote on July 23 led to the collapse of Kumaraswamy’s government. The BJP staked claim to form a new government under Yediyurappa on July 26.

First published on: 09-12-2019 at 08:14:09 am
Next Story

Ludhiana to get largest stray dog sterilisation facility in Punjab: MLA Ashu

Featured Stories

0 Comment(s) *
* The moderation of comments is automated and not cleared manually by

Featured Stories