Follow Us:
Tuesday, August 16, 2022

Jharkhand elections: Here’s how parties fared in 2014 Assembly polls

While the BJP is hoping to retain power in the 81-member House, the JMM and Congress alliance will look to oust the ruling party.

By: Express Web Desk | New Delhi |
Updated: November 2, 2019 2:53:54 pm
Jharkhand elections: As EC announces poll dates, CM Raghubar Das confident of second term Jharkhand CM Raghubar Das (Express Photo by Kevin D’Souza)

With the Election Commission of India announcing the schedule for the forthcoming Assembly elections in Jharkhand, the Raghubar Das-led BJP government is hoping to retain power in the 81-member House. The Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) led by Hemant Soren and Congress alliance, on the other hand, will look to oust the ruling BJP.

In 2014, BJP bagged 37 seats while JMM finished second by winning 19 seats. While Congress secured six seats, the All Jharkhand Students Union won five seats. Former chief minister Babulal Marandi’s Jharkhand Vikas Morcha Prajatantrik (JVM-P) secured 8 seats; the BSP, CPI, Marxist Co-ordination Committee, Jai Bharat Samanta Party, Navjawan Sangharsh Morcha managed one seat each.

The BJP, which emerged as the single largest party, eventually formed the government with the support from All Jharkhand Students’ Union and six winning MLAs from JVM-P who pledged their support to the saffron party.

Raghubar Das was sworn in as the 10th chief minister of Jharkhand on December 28, 2014.

Subscriber Only Stories
Delhi Confidential: Tiranga selfies campaign a big hit on Independence DayPremium
Bihar berozgari refrain makes way into CM’s job promisePremium
Collegium led by CJI Ramana cleared over 250 for HCs; vacancies now lowes...Premium
PM Modi’s Independence Day targets: corruption, nepotismPremium

Read | Explained: As Jharkhand elections are announced, here is the state of play

This time too the elections will be held in five phases between November 30 to December 20. As many as 2.5 crore voters will exercise their franchise, thirteen seats will go to poll in the first phase, followed by 20 in the second, 17 in the third, 15 in the fourth and 16 in the final phase on December 20. The results will be announced on December 23.

The model of code of conduct has come into effect. The term of the current 81-member Assembly ends on January 5 next year.

In an interview with The Indian Express, CM Das said that the people have “faith in the BJP”, and he went to predict that the saffron party will win more than 65 seats in the elections. Meanwhile, JMM will tie-up with the Congress for the polls.

📣 Join our Telegram channel (The Indian Express) for the latest news and updates

For all the latest India News, download Indian Express App.

  • Newsguard
  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.
  • Newsguard
First published on: 02-11-2019 at 02:46:51 pm
0 Comment(s) *
* The moderation of comments is automated and not cleared manually by

Featured Stories