Follow Us:
Thursday, October 28, 2021

Jharkhand Assembly Elections: Voting in 5 phases from Nov 30, counting on Dec 23

Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora said voting in the Naxalism-affected states will be held on November 30, December 7, 12, 16 and 20 across constituencies, respectively.

By: Express Web Desk | New Delhi |
Updated: November 1, 2019 10:23:00 pm
jharkhand election, jharkhand election 2019 date, jharkhand election date 2019, jharkhand election 2019 schedule, jharkhand election schedule 2019, jharkhand election polls, jharkhand election news, election commission, ec news, election commission of india live news, jharkhand vidhan sabha, jharkhand vidhan sabha election 2019 date, jharkhand vidhan sabha chunav, jharkhand vidhan sabha chunav 2019 date Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora addresses the media on Jharkhand Assembly Elections on Friday. (ANI)

Elections to the 81-seat Jharkhand Assembly will be held in five phases beginning November 30, the Election Commission announced Friday. Counting of votes will be held on December 23, it added.

Providing details on the poll schedule, Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora said thirteen constituencies will go to the polls in the first phase (November 30), 20 in the second phase (December 7), 17 in the third (December 12), 15 in the fourth phase (December 16) and 16 constituencies will go to polls in the fifth phase (December 20).

The term of the present Assembly will end on January 5 next year. Assembly polls in the state were held in five phases as well in 2014.

Follow Jharkhand Assembly Elections LIVE updates

There were speculations that the poll panel would announce schedule for the Delhi Assembly elections along with that of the Jharkhand, but the EC invite only refers to poll schedule for the eastern state.

Chief Minister Raghubar Das-led BJP is hoping to retain power in the tribal-dominated state, where the saffron party won 37 seats in the previous Assembly elections. The BJP was able to form the government after six MLAs from ex-chief minister Babulal Marandi’s party Jharkhand Vikas Morcha (JVM) joined the BJP soon after the elections.

The saffron party today expressed confidence that it will win more than 65 seats in Assembly and that Das will be the face of the BJP in the upcoming polls.

“Our leadership has set a target of winning more than 65 seats. I am confident that we will achieve it…. Raghubar Das will be the party’s face for the post of chief minister,” the party’s in-charge for the Jharkhand Assembly polls, O P Mathur, said.

Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) had earlier told The Indian Express that his party will tie-up with the Congress for the forthcoming polls. The JMM has 19 MLAs while Congress has eight legislators in the present Assembly.

Here is the full list of dates for nominations and voting:

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest India News, download Indian Express App.

  • Newsguard
  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.
  • Newsguard
0 Comment(s) *
* The moderation of comments is automated and not cleared manually by