Follow Us:
Tuesday, May 17, 2022

Jai Ram Thakur sworn in as Himachal Chief Minister

Jai Ram Thakur oath taking ceremony Live Updates: It is for the first time that a prime minister has attended the oath-taking ceremony of a chief minister in Himachal Pradesh.

By: Express Web Desk | Shimla |
Updated: December 27, 2017 12:34:45 pm
Jai Ram Thakur takes oath as Himachal CM Jai Ram Thakur takes oath as 13th chief minister of Himachal Pradesh (BJP Twitter)

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader Jai Ram Thakur on Wednesday took oath as the chief minister of Himachal Pradesh on Wednesday. The swearing-in ceremony of the five-time BJP MLA from Seraj constituency took place at the historic Ridge Maidan in Shimla  in the presence of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Home Minister Rajnath Singh. BJP president Amit Shah, former deputy Prime Minister LK Advani and several Union ministers and chief ministers, including Yogi Adityanath also attended the ceremony.

Thakur, along with his 11 ministers, took the oath of secrecy from Governor Acharya Devvrat.  The 52-year-old was elected to lead the state after the party’s chief ministerial candidate Prem Kumar Dhumal failed to register a win from his constituency. It was for the first time that a prime minister attended an oath-taking ceremony in the hill state.

Jai Ram Thakur takes oath Live Updates:

12:00 pm: Swearing-in ceremony concludes. The following ministers took oath as cabinet ministers of the state: Mahendra Singh, Suresh Bhardwaj, Anil Sharma, Sarveen Chowdhury, Ram Lal Markanda, Vipin Sinh Parmar, Virendra Kanwar, Vikram Singh, Govind Singh, Kishan Kapoor and Rajeev Saijal.

Best of Express Premium

After Gyanvapi, needle moves within BJP on Kashi, Mathura: ‘Shivlin...Premium
Explained: LIC’s shares are trading at a discount — but here’...Premium
UPSC CSE Key – May 17, 2022: What you need to read todayPremium
Explained: What are urban heat islands, and why are they worsening during...Premium

11:50 am: Virender Kanwar and Vikram Singh take oath as cabinet ministers of Himachal Pradesh government. Virender Kanwar is a four-time MLA from Una district. He is the one who offered his seat to former chief minister Prem Kumar Dhumal after his defeat. Vikram Singh is a four-time MLA from Kangra district.

11:45 am: Anil Sharma, Sarveen Choudhary and Ram Lal Markanda take oath as cabinet ministers in the state government. Anil Sharma was a cabinet minister in the Congress government and Rajya Sabha member earlier. Sarveen, wife of a retired army officer from Kangra district, is the only woman minister in the state cabinet.

11:35 am: Mahendra Singh, Kishan Kapoor and Suresh Bhardwaj take oath as cabinet ministers of Himachal Pradesh government.

11:27 am: Jai Ram Thakur takes oath as the 14th chief minister of Himachal Pradesh.

11:20 am: PM Modi, BJP president Amit Shah reach venue of swearing-in ceremony in Shimla.

11:15 am: Union minister J P Nadda, Haryana CM Manohar Lal Khattar and Maharashtra CM Devendra Fadnavis reach venue of swearing-in ceremony.

11:08 am: Union Ministers Nitin Gadkari, Rajnath Singh and UP CM Yogi Adityanath present for soon to begin oath taking ceremony of Jai Ram Thakur. PM Modi to arrive shortly.

11:00 am: Eleven ministers, along with Jai Ram Thakur, will be taking oath at the swearing-in ceremony which will begin in a short while from now.

10:50 am: Prime Minister Narendra Modi arrives in Himachal Pradesh’s Shimla. He was received by chief minister elect Jai Ram Thakur.

10:48 am: Rajnath Singh , Nitin Gadkari reach of venue of swearing-in ceremony in Shimla. Jai Ram Thakur, along with his 10 ministers, will be taking the oath in a short while from now.

10:25 am: Mahendra Singh, Suresh Bhardwaj, Anil Sharma, Sarveen Choudhary, Ram Lal Markande, Vipin Singh Parmar, Virender Kanwar, Vikram Singh, Govind Singh and Rajiv Sahjal to take oath as cabinet ministers along with CM elect Jai Ram Thakur shortly, reports ANI.

10:15 am: PM Modi arrives in Chandigarh; he will be attending swearing in ceremony of Himachal CM elect JairamThakur and others at Ridge ground in Shimla.

9:55 am: Having joined the Sangh Parivar as a ‘whole-timer’ of ABVP right after graduation, the soft-spoken Jai Ram Thakur has covered a long, laborious journey to reach the position he finds himself in today

9:40 am: Sadhana Thakur, wife of Jai Ram Thakur, says BJP’s win in the assembly polls in the state is a win of the common people. “It is a win for the common man. There are a lot of expectations with this Govt that they will try and solve the problems faced by the public,” ANI quoted her as saying ahead of the swearing-in ceremony.

9:35 am: Ahead of the oath taking ceremony, Jai Ram Thakur assures people that his government will try to meet the expectations of the people. “People have shown faith in us, will try to meet their expectations…It would have been great if my father would have been there today. He left us an year ago. My mother is ill but her blessings are with me and it is a very big thing for me,” ANI quoted Jai Ram Thakur as saying.

9:25 am: Sources in the government said nearly 14 helicopters will be flying to Shimla to ferry chief ministers, deputy chief ministers and central ministers, besides three with the prime minister.

8:45 am: It will be for the very first time that a prime minister will attend the oath-taking ceremony in Himachal Pradesh, reports ANI.

8:00 am: People have started gathering at the swearing-in venue,the Ridge, in Shimla.

BJP ousted the Congress from power in Himachal Pradesh by winning 44 out of the 68 seats in the recently held assembly polls.

Thakur, known as a “gentle leader” who has always shunned the limelight, was thrust into the front-runner slot after the surprise loss of BJP chief ministerial candidate Prem Kumar Dhumal in the assembly elections, which was otherwise swept by the party.  ALSO READ | Rise of Jairam Thakur: From remote Himachal village to CM-elect

For all the latest India News, download Indian Express App.

  • Newsguard
  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.
  • Newsguard
0 Comment(s) *
* The moderation of comments is automated and not cleared manually by