Thursday, Feb 02, 2023

Z-plus security for Lalu, Raman Singh likely to be withdrawn

Among others are Manish Tewari and Sriprakash Jaiswal, Rita Bahunga Joshi, Jitin Prasada and Salim Sherwani.

Lalu Prasad Yadav, Raman Singh, z plus security, black cats security It was expected that personnel of National Security Guard(NSG) will be replaced by CRPF personnel for now for these two leaders.

In a major overhaul of security drill for VIPs, NSG’s elite ‘Black Cat’ commandos are likely to be withdrawn for Chattisgarh Chief Minister Raman Singh and RJD Supremo Lalu Prasad though Sardaha scam accused Mantang Singh will continue to enjoy Z-plus cover.

At a recent meeting chaired by Union Home Secretary L C Goyal, where threat perception of all the protectees was discussed, it was decided that persons like Punjab’s former top cop K P S Gill, Union Ministers Nitin Gadkari and Jitendra Singh will enjoy Z-Plus security throught the country.

Sources said on Friday a decision to withdraw elite NSG commandos for Lalu Prasad and surprisingly for Raman Singh, who faces serious threat from Naxalites, has been taken but no formal order was issued so far. It was expected that personnel of National Security Guard(NSG) will be replaced by CRPF personnel for now for these two leaders.

Lalu will get Z-plus security in Delhi and Bihar only where as Raman Singh’s central security cover will be limited to Chattisgargh only.

Subscriber Only Stories
UPSC Key- February 2, 2023: Know about Union Budget 2023-24
Adani contagion spreads as Indian benchmark nears correction
Japanese literary giant Haruki Murakami to publish new novel after six years
Union Budget 2023 | After targeting rural and urban poor, a 2024 signal: ...

Among those whose security has been withdrawn include Congress leaders Manish Tewari and Sriprakash Jaiswal. Both of them were Z category protectees. Others included Congress leaders Rita Bahunga Joshi, Jitin Prasada, P L Punia and Salim Sherwani.

Reliance Industries Chairman Mukesh Ambani will continue to be provided with Z category security in Maharastra while Kerala Governor and former Chief Justice of India P Sathasivam will have similar cover for the first time.

In Z-plus category, 24 to 36 personnel with automatic arms are on guard round-the-clock whereas in Z category, the number of persons vary from 16 to 20.


BJP President Amit Shah will continue to enjoy Z-plus throughout the country except in Delhi while party leaders and Union Ministers Syed Shahnawaz Hussain and Rajiv Pratap Rudy will continue to be provided with Z security. Another Minister Radha Mohan Singh will get Z security for the first time.

BJP MLA from Saharanpur Suresh Rana and Sangeet Som, who are accused on Muzzafarnagar riots, have now been provided Z category security.

Controversial BJP MP Yogi Adiyanath from Gorakhpur has also been provided Y category security in which he will be guarded by four security personnel.


Security of Amar Singh, Beni Prasad Verma and R P N Singh has been downgraded from Z-plus to Y.

First published on: 20-02-2015 at 22:10 IST
Next Story

Crowded bus overturns in western Indonesia, killing 16

Latest Comment
Post Comment
Read Comments