Uproar in House, 2 PDP MLAs join walk outhttps://indianexpress.com/article/india/india-others/uproar-in-house-2-pdp-mlas-join-walk-out/

Uproar in House, 2 PDP MLAs join walk out

When the Speaker did not respond, they joined the Opposition in walking out of the House.

  J&K floods, kashmir floods, kashmir news, kashmir weather, srinagar floods, srinagar weather, J&K news, kahsmir news, india news, national news, indian news, nation news
Opposition MLAs in Assembly on Tuesday. (Source: PTI)

Jammu & Kashmir Assembly witnessed uproarious scenes on Tuesday as the BJP-PDP government came under attack from the Opposition over the relief and rescue operations in the Valley. Adding to the government’s woes, some legislators of the ruling party also joined the Opposition alleging poor response from the administration.

Two PDP legislators — Mushtaq Ahmed of Tral and Mir Zahoor of Pampore — walked out of the House along with the entire Opposition, including National Conference and Congress MLAs, alleging that the government has done nothing on the ground to deal with the situation. “Our areas have been inundated. The government should instruct officials to initiate flood relief and rescue measures,’’ the two PDP legislators said as they tried to catch Speaker Kavinder Gupta’s attention.


When the Speaker did not respond, they joined the Opposition in walking out of the House. “What is the purpose of our coming to the House if we are not allowed to raise issues concerning people of our constituencies?’’ asked Mushtaq Ahmed. “Our sitting on the treasury benches does not mean that we shall not draw the government’s attention towards the problems faced by the people,” he added.

Trouble erupted soon after the House assembled with the entire opposition legislators on their feet asking the state government to inform members about the exact situation prevailing in the state.

Who is the election result winner in your Lok Sabha constituency? Click here to find out. Get real-time updates, news and analysis on the 2019 Lok Sabha election results only at indianexpress.com/elections | For a deep dive on the elections check out data.indianexpress.com