Follow Us:
Thursday, August 18, 2022

Lok Sabha Results: Top 30 Losers

Here's a list of 30 prominent names that failed in the race to the lower house of Parliament.

The results of the Lok Sabha elections are out. While the results have brought in some new faces like Moon Moon Sen and Harsh Vardhan in the Lok Sabha, there are some old ones who failed to make it to Parliament this year. Some stalwarts like Kapil Sibal and Salman Khurshid failed to ensure a win this time. Here’s a list of 30 prominent names that failed in the race to the lower house of Parliament:

Arvind Kejriwal 
Kejriwal1. Former Delhi chief minister, Arvind Kejriwal  who challenged Narendra Modi in Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh lost with a margin of 371784 votes.

Kapil Sibal
Kapil-Sibal2. Ministry of Law & Justice Kapil Sibal of Congress lost to  BJP’s Dr. Harsh Vardhan from Chandni Chowk constituency in Delhi.3

Salman Khursheed
Salman-Khursheed3. Minister of External Affairs Salman Khursheed, who during election campaign called Narendra Modi “impotent” lost to BJP’s Mukesh Rajput of BJP from Farrukhabad constituency in Uttar Pradesh.

Subscriber Only Stories
Delhi Confidential: Kerala football club stuck in Tashkent, S-G Tushar Me...Premium
An Expert Explains: Why a stable Kenya is in the interest of Africa and t...Premium
With fund & engineers, Taliban help rebuild gurdwara hit by Islamic S...Premium
The woes of power: A moderate approach to the discom sector might be the ...Premium

Ajay Maken
Ajay-Maken4. Congress general secretary Ajay Maken lost to BJP’s Meenakshi Lekhi from New Delhi constituency in Delhi.

Smirti Irani
Smiriti-Irani5. BJP’s Smirti Irani, who contested from Amethi against Congress vice-president Rahul Gandhi  lost despite huge sweep by BJP across country.

Priya Dutt
Priya-Dutt6. Priya Dutt of Congress lost her Mumbai North Central constituency to her rival Poonam Mahajan of BJP.


Bappi Lahiri
bappi-Lehari7.  Music composer and BJP candidate from  Srerampur constituency Bappi Lahiri loses to TMC’s Kalyan Banerjee in West Bengal.

Raj Babbar
Raj-Babbar8.. Bollywood actor Raj Babbar lost to V.K. Singh of BJP from Ghaziabad constituency of Uttar Pradesh.

Meera Kumar
Meera-kumar9. Lok Sabha speaker Meera Kumar of Indian national congress lost to Chhedi paswan of Bhartiya Janta Party in Sasaram constituency of Bihar.


Ajit Singh
Ajit-Singh10. Civil Aviation Minister Ajit Singh of  Rashtriya Lok Dal lost to Dr. Satya Pal Singh of BJP from Baghpat constituency in  Uttar Pradesh.

Sriprakash Jaiswal
Sriprakash-Jaiswal11. Coal Minister Sriprakash Jaiswal of Indian National Congress lost to Dr. Murli Manohar Joshi of BJP from Kanpur in Uttar Pradesh.

Farooq Abdullah
Farooq-Abdullah12. Minister for New and Renewable Energy Farooq Abdullah of National Conference lost to Tariq Hameed Karra of PDP from Srinagar constituency in Jammu and Kashmir.

Ghulam Nabi Azad
Gh-Nabi-Azad13. Health Minister Ghulam Nabi Azad of Congress lost to Dr. Jitendra Singh of BJP from Udhampur constituency in Jammu and Kashmir.

V. Narayanasamy
V.-Narayanasamy14.  Minister of State in the Prime Minister’s Office V. Narayanasamy who contested on Congress seat from Puducherry constituency lost to R. Radhakrishnan  of All India N.R. Congress.


Sachin Pilot
Sachin-Pilot15.  Union minister Sachin Pilot of Congress lost to  Sanwar Lal Jat of BJP from Ajmer constituency in Rajasthan.

Girja Vyas
Girja-vyas16.  Union minister Girja Vyas of Congress lost to Chandra Prakash Joshi of BJP from Chittorgarh constituency in Rajasthan.


Bhanwar Jitendra Singh
Bhanwar-Jitendra-Singh17. Union minister Bhanwar Jitendra Singh of Congress lost to BJP’s Chand Nath from Alwar constituency in Rajasthan.

Mohd. Azharuddin
Azharudin18. Former India cricket captain Mohd. Azharuddin of Congress lost to Sukhbir Singh Jaunapur from Tonk-Sawai Madhopur constituency in Rajasthan.


Pawan Kumar Bansal
Pawan-kumar-bansal19. Former Railway Minister Pawan Kumar Bansal of Congress lost to Kher Kirron Anupam of BJP from Chandigarh constituency.

A. Raja
A.-Raja20. Former telecom ministerm A. Raja of DMK lost to Gopalkrishnan. C. of AIADMK from  Nilgiris constituency in Tamil Nadu.

Arun Jaitley
Arun-Jaitley21. Arun Jaitley of BJP lost to Captain Amrinder Singh of Congress from Amritsar constituency in Punjab.

Bhaichung Bhutia
baichungbhatia22. Bhaichung Bhutia of Trinamool Congress lost to S.S.Ahluwalia from Darjeeling constituency in West Bengal.

Sharad Yadav
Sharad-Yadav23.  Sharad Yadav of  Janata Dal-United lost to Rajesh Ranjan @ Pappu Yadav from Madhepura constituency in Bihar.

Jaswant Singh
Jaswant-singh24. Expelled BJP leader Jaswant Singh who fought as an Independent candidate from Barmer constituency lost to Col. Sona  Ram of BJP.

Rabri Devi
Rabri-devi26. Former Bihar chief minister Rabri Devi of RJD lost to Rajiv Pratap Rudy of BJP from Saran constituency in Bihar.

Prakash Jha
Prakash-Jha27.  Filmmaker Prakash Jha who fought on Janata Dal-United ticket fro the second time lost to Dr. Sanjay Jaiswal of BJP from West Champaran constituency in Bihar.

Ravi Kishan
Ravi-Kishen28. Actor Ravi Kishan who fought on a Congress ticket from Jaunpur constituency in Uttar Pradesh lost to BJP’s Krishna Pratap with a huge margin..

Shazia Ilmi
Shazia-ilmi29. Shazia Ilmi of AAP who fought her maiden Lok Sabha election from Ghaziabad lost to V.K Singh of BJP got only 89147 votes against V.K Singh’s 758482 votes.

Chhagan Bhujbal
Chaggan-bhujbal30.  Maharashtra PWD minister Chhagan Bhujbal who contested on NCP ticket from Nashik constituency in Maharashtra lost to Godse Hemant Tukaram of Shiv Sena.

First published on: 17-05-2014 at 02:26:59 pm
Next Story

Bangladesh ferry accident claims 40 lives; search called off

Featured Stories

0 Comment(s) *
* The moderation of comments is automated and not cleared manually by

Featured Stories