School Notes

School Notes

The Federation of Public Schools,New Delhi,presented the Teacher’s State Award to Sheelu Mathew,principal of St Mary’s School,Dwarka,on the occasion of Teacher’s Day.

St Mary’s principal gets Teacher’s State Award

The Federation of Public Schools,New Delhi,presented the Teacher’s State Award to Sheelu Mathew,principal of St Mary’s School,Dwarka,on the occasion of Teacher’s Day. It was a token of sincere appreciation and recognition of contribution towards education. The award was conferred upon her by Sheila Dikshit,Chief Minister of Delhi,in the presence of Arvinder Singh Lovely,Education Minister of NCT; Diwan Chand,IAS,and Dr R P Malik,Chairman of the Federation of Public Schools. The school was extremely delighted that the government had acknowledged its contribution towards education by embracing and empowering all sections of people in the society.

Investiture ceremony at Abhinav Public School

The new school cabinet was installed on September 28,2011. In a grand function,a student council of 28 members took the oath to their post in the leadership of Master Shiv Pratap,president. Kesang Ngurup,Damo-Dy,Resident Commissioner,Arunachal Pradesh,was the chief guest on the occasion. School head S K Jha welcomed the chief guest and other dignitaries. A series of cultural programmes was presented on the occasion. The Rajasthani and classical Kathak dance was appreciated. Rishabh Jain and Apoorva Vats were chosen as Head Boy and Head Girl respectively. In his address,the chief guest appealed to students to utilise time creatively as nothing worthwhile comes easily. He added that hardwork and dedication have no substitute. School principal Saroj Aggarwal presented a memento to the chief guest. A vote of thanks was proposed by Sachin Bhatia.

Dussehra celebrations at Abhinav Public School

To inculcate respect for Indian culture and give young ones proper knowledge of the festival,Abhinav School celebrated Dussehra in the school. For the pre-primary wing,a screening of the movie Ramayana was organised,with teachers helping them understand basic moral values. Students of various classes,dressed as different character from the religious epic,were looking dashing in their attires. A garba dance was also organised on the occasion for boys and girls of the school. Dressed in the traditional Gujarati dress,they danced with full vigour. It was organised specially to give them a day filled with fun and enjoyment after the terminal examination.

New office-bearers elected to schools’ conference


The Principal of Bal Bharati Public School,GRH Marg — L V Sehgal — was elected as the chairman of the National Progressive Schools’ Conference (NPSC) on September 28. NPSC is a four-decade-old organisation that consists of more than 120 public schools across India as its members. The other office-bearers who have been elected are as follows: Vice-Chairperson is Ameeta Mullah Wattal,principal,Springdales School,Pusa Road; Secretary is Chitra Nakra,principal,Veda Vyasa DAV Public School,Vikas Puri; Joint Secretary is Rachna Pandit,principal,DPS,Maruti Kunj; Treasurer is George Matthews,principal,Jaspal Kaur Public School,Shalimar Bagh

Function to mark Tagore,Gandhiji’s birth anniversaries

A function to commemorate the 142nd Gandhi Jayanti and the 150th birth anniversary of poet laureate Gurudev Rabindranath Tagore was held at the India International Centre under the auspices of the Sarvodaya International Trust (New Delhi Chapter). The function was inaugurated by renowned artiste Shubha Mudgal,who lit the inaugural lamp with chairman of Sarvodaya International Trust (New Delhi Chapter) Dr A K Merchant and other trustees. Mudgal also released the SIT brochure for the function. On the occasion,the Sarvodaya International Trust showcased ‘A Meeting of Two Great Minds’ — Gandhi and Tagore through a reading of letters from Prof Sabyasachi Bhattacharya’s compilation. The letters highlighted the mutual respect and admiration that Guru dev and Mahatma felt for each other. The highlight of the evening was a very emotive rendition of bhajans by Mudgal,who was accompanied on the Tabla by Aneesh Pradhan and the harmonium by Sudhir Nayak. Mudgal enthralled the audience by singing Amarpur Le Chalo Ho Sajna,based on Kabir’s Doha.The audience,comprising well-known citizens of Delhi,officebearers and trustees,was regaled with a number of other bhajans — including Prabhuji main araj karoon and Ab kaise chutey naam rat lagi. B G Varghese,trustee,delivered the vote of thanks. He appreciated all the people who had helped make the event such a great success.

For latest coverage on Haryana and Maharashtra Elections, log on to We bring you the fastest assembly election 2019 updates from each constituency in both the states.