Rarely in the House: Attendance register for Sachin, Rekha and others

A look at the attendance records of Sachin Tendulkar and Rekha as well as the regulars in the Parliament.

By: Express News Service | New Delhi | Updated: August 13, 2014 12:05:11 pm
sachin-rekha480 CPM’s P Rajeeve raised the issue of long absence of the two celebrity MPs as he wanted to know if they had sought permission.

Sachin Tendulkar and Rekha have come under attack in the Rajya Sabha for their low attendance, especially after Sachin was granted leave. A look at their attendance records.


(100 per cent) 
Kanak Lata Singh


The Samajwadi Party MP is the only currently serving Rajya Sabha member who never missed a session between April 3, 2009, and February 21, 2014. Two others — Balihari Babu and Hans Raj Bhardwaj — had 100% attendance until they completed their terms during the period under review .

Create Infographics

(99 or 98 per cent)

D P Tripathi (NCP, Maharashtra), Dharam Pal Sabharwal (Cong, Punjab), Janardan Dwivedi (Cong, Delhi), Pankaj Bora (Cong, Assam), Rangasayee Ramakrishna (BJP, Karnataka), Salim Ansari (BSP), Shreegopal Vyas (BJP, Chhattisgarh), E M Sudarsana Natchiappan (Cong, Tamil Nadu), Janeshwar Mishra (SP, UP), K Malaisamy (AIADMK), M S Gill (Cong, Punjab), Motilal Vora (Cong, Chhattisgarh), Raashid Alvi (Cong, Andhra Pradesh), Rajpal Singh Saini (BSP), Santiuse Kujur (Cong, Assam). They served for varying periods between the same dates.

(82 per cent)
P Rajeeve


(CPM, Kerala); the MP who raised the low attendance in RS

For all the latest India News, download Indian Express App