Follow Us:
Monday, January 24, 2022

President’s rule imposed in Jharkhand

Ending the political uncertainty in Jharkhand,President's rule has been imposed in the state on Monday.

Written by Agencies | New Delhi |
January 19, 2009 4:45:55 pm

Jharkhand was placed under President’s rule on Monday,ending political uncertainty in the state in the wake of Chief Minister Shibhu Soren losing a byelection which forced him to resign.

An unscheduled meeting of the Union Cabinet decided to recommend to President Pratibha Patil to bring the state under Central rule and keep the 81-member assembly,which has its term till March next year,under suspended animation.

The Cabinet recommendation was sent to the President who approved it and sent it to the Home Ministry,official sources said.

The decision was based on Governor Syed Sibtey Razi’s report on the political deadlock in the state after the Chief Minister stepped down on January 12 when he failed to enter the state assembly through a bye-election within six months of taking over the reins of the state.

The state which went to polls in 2005 has seen three Chief Ministers with Soren becoming the Chief Minister on two occasions,BJP’s Arjun Munda for 17 months and Madhu Koda,an independent backed by Congress and JMM,occupying the post for almost two years.

The Naxal-hit state has been in existence for the last eight years. The BJP came to power with thumping majority in November 2000 after the state formation. The BJP government was headed by Babulal Marandi was replaced by Arjun Munda by the party in 2003.

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest India News, download Indian Express App.

  • Newsguard
  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.
  • Newsguard
0 Comment(s) *
* The moderation of comments is automated and not cleared manually by