Follow Us:
Friday, September 17, 2021

President releases commemorative stamps on eight Indian music greats

President: Their contribution and its enrichment of our cultural heritage cannot be quantified or estimated.

By: Press Trust of India | New Delhi |
Updated: September 3, 2014 4:26:58 pm

President Pranab Mukherjee on Wednesday released a set of eight commemorative postage stamps featuring renowned Indian classical musicians at a function at Rashtrapati Bhavan in New Delhi.

The set brought out by Postal Department features icons form the world of Indian classical music: Pandit Ravi Shankar, Pandit Bhimsen Joshi, DK Pattammal, Pandit Mallikarjun Mansur, Gangubai Hangal, Pandit Kumar Gandharva, Ustad Vilayat Khan and Ustad Ali Akbar Khan, Press Secretary to the President, Venu Rajamony said.

Speaking on the occasion, the President said, “as we pay tribute to eight of the greatest music maestros of contemporary India, we celebrate their life and work and their matchless legacy.”

“These eight maestros are, without a doubt, among the tallest luminaries in the history of world music. They have not only achieved personal perfection but also made extraordinary contributions in their respective fields for the development and evolution of the schools of music in which their talents were nurtured and honed,” Mukherjee said.

He said their contribution and its enrichment of our cultural heritage cannot be quantified or estimated.

“It is infinite in its resonance and their names will be mentioned with great reverence. Their music will be cherished by the young and old, for many decades to come,” he said.

📣 The Indian Express is now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@indianexpress) and stay updated with the latest headlines

For all the latest India News, download Indian Express App.

  • The Indian Express website has been rated GREEN for its credibility and trustworthiness by Newsguard, a global service that rates news sources for their journalistic standards.
0 Comment(s) *
* The moderation of comments is automated and not cleared manually by