President,PM congratulate ISRO for successful launch of Mars mission

President,PM congratulate ISRO for successful launch of Mars mission

India embarked on its maiden Mars odyssey with the successful launch of its Mars mission.

President Pranab Mukherjee and Prime Minister Manmohan Singh on Tuesday congratulated the ISRO scientists for successful initiation of Mars Mission.

India embarked on its maiden Mars odyssey with its polar rocket carrying Mars Orbiter Mission (MOM) successfully lifting off from the Satish Dhawan Space Centre here in its first-ever inter-planetary expedition in a bid to join a select band of nations.

In his message to Chairman of Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) Dr K Radhakrishnan,the President said,”This launch of India’s first dedicated Mars Orbiter Spacecraft is a significant milestone in the progress of our space programme and space applications.”

He congratulated Radhakrishnan and asked him to convey his greetings to the members of the team of scientists and others involved in “greater mission” of successful launch of the Mars Orbiter Spacecraft powered by PSLV C25 rocket.


The Prime Minister called up the ISRO Chief K Radhakrishnan and congratulated his team on successful launch of “Mangalyan”,Mars Orbiter Spacecraft.

“I congratulate you and your team for this historic achievement,” Singh said.

He also wished for the successful future of the mission.

The Mars mission of the ISRO is aimed at establishing the country’s capability to reach the red planet and focus on looking for the presence of methane,an indicator of life in Mars.

The textbook lift-off of ISRO’s workhorse launch vehicle PSLV C25 at 2.38 PM from the spaceport,about 100 km from Chennai,was witnessed among others by Minister of State in PMO,V Narayanasamy,US Ambassador to India Nancy Powell,Indian Space Research Organisation chairman K Radhakrishnan and a host of other officials.

(With PTI inputs)

For latest coverage on Haryana and Maharashtra Elections, log on to We bring you the fastest assembly election 2019 updates from each constituency in both the states.