Plea in Supreme Court against top vigilance officers

While Chowdary was appointed as the CVC on June 6, Bhasin took charge as the VC on June 11.

By: Express News Service | New Delhi | Updated: July 23, 2015 2:04:13 am
T M Bhasin, PIL CVC appointment, PIL VC appintment, Supreme court, Vigilance Commissioner, cvc, CIC, K V Chowdary, Central Vigilance Commissioner, Chief Information Commissioner, indian express Supreme Court

A PIL was filed in the Supreme Court on Wednesday challenging the appointments of K V Chowdary as the Central Vigilance Commissioner (CVC) and T M Bhasin as a Vigilance Commissioner (VC) over alleged violation of the principles of personal and institutional integrity.

While Chowdary was appointed as the CVC on June 6, Bhasin took charge as the VC on June 11. Their appointments were passed after the SC agreed to modify its restraint order against such appointments. This order was passed in a PIL that had sought a transparent procedure of the appointment.

The petition filed by NGO Common Cause along with certain eminent personalities, including a former chief of naval staff and a former power secretary, has now alleged that a “completely non-transparent” procedure was followed in the two appointments.

Share This Article
Related Article

“The government did not even place the names of short-listed candidates in public domain or the fact that Chowdary and Bhasin were being considered for the appointment to such important positions,” the petition filed through advocate Prashant Bhushan said. It added this opaqueness renders the appointment void and illegal.

Seeking a directive to set aside their appointments, the PIL also questioned the personal integrity of the two officers and alleged that their credentials were doubtful. The petition alleged that Chowdary was one of the visitors at former CBI director Ranjit Sinha’s residence and these meetings were now under investigation by the Commission. It accused Chowdary of favouring certain firms and of laxity in actions to retrieve black money when he was the chairperson of the Central Board of Direct Taxes.

For all the latest India News, download Indian Express App